God (John Lennon)

God is a concept/By which we measure/Our pain
-I’ll say it again-
God is a concept/By which we measure/Our pain

I don’t believe in magic
I don’t believe in I-ching
I don’t believe in Bible
I don’t believe in tarot
I don’t believe in Hitler
I don’t believe in Jesus
I don’t believe in Kennedy
I don’t believe in Buddha
I don’t believe in Mantra
I don’t believe in Gita
I don’t believe in Yoga
I don’t believe in kings
I don’t believe in Elvis
I don’t believe in Zimmerman
I don’t believe in Beatles
I just believe in me
Yoko and me (And that’s reality)

The dream is over/What can I say?
The dream is over/Yesterday
I was the Dreamweaver/But now I’m reborn
I was the Walrus/But now I’m John
And so dear friends/You’ll just have to carry on
The dream is over

 **For me what is great about this song is it is a call to the ‘here and now’. I love the message – introspection of ones views on faith, themselves, and how that measures up to reality. I really feel what John says with ‘the dream is over’ – kinda like coming from a background of faith and finding a lot by losing it all (he is speaking of the Beatles experience obviously and not my weak faith analogy).

Everytime I hear it – I feel what Lennon must of went through and all the problems with life he ran into. At some point – it seems – he just wants to be himself – free of all those previous cares – free of all those stereotypes – free of all that baggage – free of all those pigeon holing ideologies – in essence – free.

6 thoughts on “God (John Lennon)

  1. Great post.

    None of us really have time for all of the BS. Just live life to the fullest. Be in live with life and others and love itself. Just be yourself — finally! Right on.

  2. I’ve spent years distracted by what I was supposed to believe, almost completely missing the here and now, focusing on life after death. What a waste! There is so much beauty and amazement in this life and world we live in Now… let’s just live it, love it, and share it. Great post and song man!

  3. At work last night a guy asked me what is the point of religion if not to prepare for heaven. He couldn’t understand why we Jews are focused on life here on earth and trying to make our world just a little better instead of trying to make sure we have a spot in some place that for all we know doesn’t even exist. Don’t guess he’ll be visiting my rabbi to talk about conversion any time soon…..

  4. I am all for a faith the directs its attention to the here and now – since we know this is what we do have to work with. It also never made much logical sense to me to hear people talk about getting to heaven when all that matters in that equation is ‘how you live down here’ (not there).

    I figured that out a long time ago soon after I helped a street person find a bed in a local sleazy motel for $35.00 a night – during a camp meeting downtown in my city. I think I had $50.00 on me for the rest of the month (I was poor myself) but I really felt this dude needed the money more than me that night. No one in that tent offered a single piece of help when he came in the tent and was begging – they kinda just ignored him. When he asked me I was willing to help so we left the tent and talked. It was that night I realized the true difference between faith and dead religion. I also realized that faith needs to be applicable here or its better off dead.

  5. This song, when I first heard it (and also Imagine), made me think a lot – not about leaving my faith but about reality and what matters. Even as a young Christian I noticed my faith was becoming hardened and not supposed to be helpful – and that bothered me a lot – I came from an impoverished area. I heard songs like this and I felt more like worshipping than when I heard songs by worship groups (who just said the same thing over and over with no real message).

  6. I find listening to “secular” (don’t care for the distinction anymore) music is very “worshipful” as you describe it… totally agree. I think I’ll pop in my Phil Colins DVD and watch one of my favorites Another Day in Paridise

Leave a Reply

