Black History Month

I have been watching a lot of programming over the past few days surrounding Black History Month and I am loving every single minute of it. I have watched African American Lives (2 parts of it), Malcolm X and civil rights, the King Jr. movement, and other civil rights documentaries (ie: Muhammed Ali).

I would suggest that each and every one of us take this month to learn about the history of the African American community and the struggles they endured. I think it is of pivotal importance to know the history of a people that have been brutalized in a free country and understand aspects of that pain.

Why is this important? Identity. I think it is key to know what struggles set a whole nation back from succeeding and what aspects of that still linger today – and how we can lend a hand to a solution of the problem – even if on this small level of knowing our roles in alleviating the pressures upon them or helping them develop their true self-worth by acknowledging their history and how great they were within it.

I really love watching history – it teaches me so much about the plights of the past and the way to the future. I am actually extremely proud of many of their leaders for the stances they both took and suffered for – and I want to honor them as my counter-parts by saying ‘in my history book – your stories mean as much to me as any I have read’.

I look back and I see the pain of these times from slavery to segregation and how this effected the whole society around them. This is Black History Month – lets learn the stories – let’s not be doomed to forgetting what happened in the past – God forbid we ever are doomed to repeat something like that. Here is to equality – pick up a remote and learn something new.

7 thoughts on “Black History Month

  1. I If you haven’t read his biography by Alex Haley (the movie was based on it) I cannot recommend it highly enough. I read it for the first time a year or so ago. Absolutely amazing. I try to imagine how much better things might have been if he had lived. It blew me away when I realized he grew up in my home state of Michigan. I spent my first 34 years there, and I never knew that was where he grew up.

  2. I have never read the book – my younger brother has it – but I have watched the movie and many biographies on Malcolm – he truly was an inspiring person. Maybe I’ll someday get around to reading the book.

  3. “lets learn the stories – let’s not be doomed to forgetting what happened in the past – God forbid we ever are doomed to repeat something like that. Here is to equality” (Societyvs)

    That is very well stated. (I know this because I’m a polititian. LOL). You are so right, we need to learn these stories. Growing up where I did, there was never any mention of Malcolm X, or King Jr, or any other prominent black leaders. I had to learn it on the street, so to speak. Even to this day there is no acknowledgement of Black History month, except if I turn the TV to the right channel. Just because I live in Canada doesn’t mean we can’t provide some quality education regarding civil rights movements and all the over facets of black history.

    We’re all in this together, lets see if we can make this society better and not repeat the mistakes

    On a multicultural side note, today is New Years Day on the Chinese Calendar. Year of the Rat.

  4. Year of the rat huh – I wonder what that is supposed to signify? I know how rat is used in the streets – and uhm – yeah not a good reference (lol). But I would be interested in what the Chinese use the rat for as symbolism.

  5. Weird day today for me – in regards to Chinese New Year – I was joking around with two friends about not celebrating Chinese New Year because the Int’l students made us take down some Tianamen Square poster in our Aboriginal Student Centre – and someone got offended at the jokes…ouch. Now I have to apologize.

  6. So, it begins. The rat is a wiley character and shows no remorse, consider your self to have been bitten. I’m sorry, but I’m a having a little chuckle over here, because it seems a little excessive for you to have to apologize for making a joke.

    Obviously aboriginal humour is not appreciated at the U, or maybe those poor people were tragically born without a sense of humour. Its a sad to think that over half the population has been born with this humor affecting disorder. I’m trying to get a research grant, so I can prove my theory and provide some much needed therapy for those sad and somber individuals. Also I want to give a cool sounding title so all the celebs will buy into it.

    Do you have to make a public apology?

  7. “Do you have to make a public apology?” (Just1)

    Not public – just to the certain people offended – we are not even sure who they are but I have a good clue who it is…I just want people to not be offended that’s all – and even though the joke was very tame it still offended someone – so I will try to make my part right. If I am not forgiven – big deal – it was a joke.

    :”Obviously aboriginal humour is not appreciated at the U” (Just1)

    Well I have a great little crew of people that all joke around – mostly Aboriginal – I am noticing amongst non-Aborginals this is quite the acquired taste. Oh well, the more jokes I make the more people will realize this does bind my community together on some level.

    “So, it begins. The rat is a wiley character and shows no remorse, consider your self to have been bitten” (Just1)

    Is that for real? LOL – I thought it was for a second and I thought that would be ironic.

    I checked wikipedia:

    “Rat is associated with aggression, wealth, charm, and order, yet also associated with death, war, the occult, pestilence, and atrocities” (Wikipedia)

    Also apparently this is the year of the ‘earth rat’ – there is also a metal, wood, and fire rat. Not sure what that all means but if I know my symbols I think it means the Republicans are in power for another 8 years (LOL)!

Leave a Reply

