From Hate to Fear

Mystical, I really liked the Kushner quotes – that was some deep stuff – and I think he encapsulates the relation of power, love, and evil. I think it is all about focus – what aspect of God we focus on – me I prefer to focus on how much God loves – in this I find the power of God exists – but God also seems relational.

For me, hate and fear are focuses I cannot pick up – to me – God does not seem to be that type of spirit…at least not in my experiences from what living the teachings actually does to a person. We deal with fears and deal with feelings of anger (hate) – and once those go away we move into filling those areas with compassion or contentment. I find it funny for someone to tell me ‘God hates’ – maybe they themselves hate and image it onto God – but I am not sure God does hate. Why ask us to deal with our hate if this is so? Why ask us to deal with our fears if this is so? Why ask us to love ourselves? That is hypocritical (an obvious term Jesus held no esteem for).

I cannot reconcile, within any form of logic, where God can be defined as ‘hate’. I think God can be angry – no probs there – but actually hate…if I am not allowed how can one say the God they serve is allowed to? Question is – are you allowed to hate and if so, how often do you express this right? Also, with hate comes fear – and fear seems to be in opposition to love – can you love God when you fear Him? This is all a matter of expression.

11 thoughts on “From Hate to Fear

  1. SVS

    Who knows exactly what hate is. Maybe its a fire to burn away something in us. My wife said a good one about anger. “Anger is just unresolved sadness”, I like that because I know it(sadness). So as my sadness decreases, so does my Anger and so too, that which I hate.

  2. Good point John – anger as sadness – yoy know – this is what I have found to be true also. I have seen the hurt and pain in my life caused anger – which eventually caused hate…but usually it started with me being hurt by someone else. But never was hate the actual outcome desired either in that process – but rather healing was – contentment with life.

  3. Society,

    I believe we are made in God’s image and everything that is in us is a reflection of God but twisted by sin. We are given anger to defend ourselves when our lives or the lives of loved ones are threatened. It makes us brave, causes us to feel less pain, and fills us with energy that we don’t normally have. However, we use our anger wrongfully whereas, Jesus used it righteously as when he drove the moneychangers out of the temple. He was angry at that which angered God therefor, His anger was a righteous anger. When we are angry at that which angers God, we too have a righteous anger. Even then, we are taught in scripture to be angry and sin not. Being mad is not ever an excuse for sin.

    I have been thinking about all this also and honestly, I never considered whether or not God hates. The Bible does give us many depicitions of God’s wrath and I suppose that could be considered hate but I lean more on the side of righteous anger. I think God hates what hurts his children and no matter how much we try to normalize it and tolerate it, sin hurts. There is a point when hurt and destruction can’t be tolerated and it seems to me that at those points in time when human beings are near to drowing ourselves in sin and have become so wicked that a holy God can’t even look at us, then His wrath occurs in response. However, this too is an act of Mercy for by it God retains a remnent and keeps the species alive. His wrath is righteous anger and not the destructive senseless anger that is hatred in human beings. What I am getting at is that I believe that God’s mercy negates any true hatred towards those He has created. If there is a person to receive hatred from God, it would be Satan, the father of the lie and the one who introduced sin and death into His Creation by tricking Eve and Adam. Even if one does not view Satan as a person in the contemporary sense of the word, it would be toward this codicil of evil that God could direct hatred to and remain just.

  4. “Can you love God when you fear Him?”

    Great question. I believe that answer is a definite NO, and that is exactly God came to us and comes to us the way that He did.

    God could write His name in bold letters across the sky if He wanted to do so so that it would be visable from all places and then we would all be believers…but no one would love Him…we would just fear Him.

    So He came to us in the form of a man and He comes to us in Spirit, in His Word and in the bread and the wine of communion.

    And some believe.

  5. Also, with hate comes fear – and fear seems to be in opposition to love – can you love God when you fear Him?

    For me it doesn’t seem possible. If you worship God out of fear, then at some level it is necessarily a reluctant, grudging worship; it is not a worship and love that comes from the depths of your soul. At some level, you are just worshiping God because you have to. Can anyone in an abusive relationship truly love the abuser? Do threats inspire love?

  6. “Also, with hate comes fear – and fear seems to be in opposition to love – can you love God when you fear Him?”

    Why is that people feel that we cannot love if there is a measure of fear associated with someone? Do you realize that most fears are based on assumptions that someone or something can hurt you. In other words fear is based on the potential for experiencing pain. Now I ask you, dont we all at some point or another give someone the opportunity to hurt us. When we expose the deepest parts of our soul to another, there is a potential then, for them to hurt us. Now who out there has never at any point feared that the one they have entrusted their love to would not hurt them? In this world of duality I would venture a guess that it is none.

  7. Pam

    “It makes us brave, causes us to feel less pain, and fills us with energy that we don’t normally have.”

    From a fighters perspective, I always liked to do batte with the “angry one”, because they were quick to tire and did not have their wits about them. The ones who were calm, cool and collected scared the shit out of me. 😉

  8. John T.,

    LOL! Well, anger can turn a kitten into a tiger but anger does not give lasting strength that’s for sure. I agree, the ones who calculate destruction of another are far more dangerous.

  9. Hello All

    This pretty much sums it all up. That is why it is Soooo important to be aware of what “our own” religion preaches.

    You’ve got to be taught To hate and fear, You’ve got to be taught From year to year, It’s got to be drummed In your dear little ear You’ve got to be carefully taught.
    You’ve got to be taught to be afraid
    Of people whose eyes are oddly made,
    And people whose skin is a diff’rent shade,
    You’ve got to be carefully taught.

    You’ve got to be taught before it’s too late,
    Before you are six or seven or eight,
    To hate all the people your relatives hate,
    You’ve got to be carefully taught!

  10. “Why is that people feel that we cannot love if there is a measure of fear associated with someone?” (John)

    I think there is some very valid reasons. I love my wife – but if I had to fear she would hurt me all the time – well love would cease being there. In essence, I cannot continue to love my wife if I have to live in fear of her (and vice versa).

    Fear does not make one love another person – it just does not contain those powers. Fear makes one actually resent another person as it’s main attribute. Now, if we have this type of fear of God – then it will be no wonder when someone leaves only to ‘resent’ God or those associated with God.

    To me, fear is the beginning of wisdom – but it’s only a beginning step and not the final place of growth. All relationships start off with this fear – or even this sense of awe – and then we grow to know the person. With that comes trust, love, care, compassion, oneness, etc. But what does not stick around is fear – because perfect love (relationally) will cast fear out of it’s presence.

    “At some level, you are just worshiping God because you have to. Can anyone in an abusive relationship truly love the abuser? Do threats inspire love?” (Mystical)

    I tend to agree with you on these points…love for another is not made whole by force. threats, or condemnation. People that rely on those things – may know God – but know very little about God – since they have not graduated to a level of ‘full trust’ in God…I would actually say due to their fears they are holding something back. Because fear does not cause love – but fear causes anxiety.

    ““Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering.” — Yoda.” (OSS)

    You know, when I wrote this short piece – I was inspired by those words – but I could not remember them. Fear really screwed up Anakin’s life.

    “I think God hates what hurts his children and no matter how much we try to normalize it and tolerate it, sin hurts” (Pam)

    I won’t disagree there – sin does hurt – namely when it is done to us (then we know it’s sting). I can see God being troubled with aspects of sin and free will – some of the crimes out there are absolutely horrendous. But there is not much I can do anyways to prove God’s anger or hate for situations – what I can prove are mine.

    That’s why I think the focus has to be on how we handle what we think of God – concerning anger and hate. It’s actually not important if God hates or not – since we do not really know the answer. What we need to deal with are our own hate and angers – and how this changes situations around us. Every situation we will ever know (crime wise) began in the heart of a human (usually as a child) – and to stop sin – we need to deal with ourselves first and foremost – then allow our lives to leak over onto our every relationship. Sin won’t stop because of prayer – but out of careful consideration we can break those chains.

Leave a Reply

