A Helper Who Is Against Him – Eve Dialogue

“It would be so much easier if one side didn’t care so much and would just walk away. But the love that we feel for a certain land or a particular set of principles or an understanding of God should not only move us to struggle for what we believe and hold sacred, but soften our hearts for people who feel the same way we do, even if they have reached different conclusions about to whom that land belongs, which set of principles is the one that demands their commitment, or which understanding of God is the one to which they give themselves over” (Rabbi Brad Hirschfield, pg 197, You Don’t Have To Be Wrong For Me To Be Right). 

Comment made in regards to a term used about Eve ‘ezer k’ngedo’ which is translated as ‘a helper who is against him’ (Gen 2:18). Point being, Adam and Eve did not agree on everything – but what they did was compliment one another in relationship. 

I feel this way about the faith I am in. The reason many of us lock horns in dispute – and sometimes get emotional over issues – is because we care about the ‘same’ issue. The fact we are both concerned reveals how close we truly are value wise – and that the dispute exists because of our shared value. Had no one cared – no debate at all. 

I read Hirschfield yesterday and I was enlightened to this. I was very happy to read this – it was something I needed to hear – and this from a Jewish rabbi to a reading semi-Christian type person. 

I realize that we all so share our concerns with one another and these are values we each have/share. I try to tow this line in conversation and I realize – this is what good faith should do and become – a faith needs to become one where we can ‘stand’ but also be ‘cordial’…where push does not lead to shove – but to love.  

***Maybe I should convert to Judaism? Rabbi’s speak more to me than most Christian ministers do.

10 thoughts on “A Helper Who Is Against Him – Eve Dialogue

  1. “The reason many of us lock horns in dispute – and sometimes get emotional over issues – is because we care about the ’same’ issue” – SVS

    Yep, I learned that in divorce also. Hate is not the opposite of love. Hate means you are emotionally attached to the other. Indifference is the opposite of love and hate. or as you said “Had no one cared – no debate at all. ”

    I am quickly getting to indifferences concerning faith and G-d. I often wonder if the debate is worthwhile. Everyone believes what they want, and but then I realize that dangerous ideas about G-d and faith need to be challenged.

    Listen to John Mayer’s Belief

    “oh, everyone believes
    from emptiness to everything
    oh, everyone believes
    and no one’s going quietly

    what puts a hundred thousand children in the sand?
    belief can, belief can
    what puts a folded flag inside his mother’s hand?
    belief can, belief can”

  2. “I often wonder if the debate is worthwhile. Everyone believes what they want, and but then I realize that dangerous ideas about G-d and faith need to be challenged.” (Wolf)

    I think the key is the debate – that’s my opinion anyways. We need to challenge what certain beliefs do to people and what they allow of people. This is why I go about the blog and challenging people on their views (some of the time).

    I mean, hold a certain belief long enough and get passionate enough about it – you will find certain people in this faith (and others) treat people differently for the sake of their beliefs being correct…when who the hell cares if your belief is correct when it allows you to hurt others.

  3. I would convert also, after reading this

    http://www.ctv.ca/servlet/ArticleNews/story/CTVNews/20080807/funeral_protest_080807/20080807?hub=TopStories

    “The daughter of the founder of the Westboro Baptist Church, based in Topeka, Ka., told CTV.ca she and several other church members will go to Winnipeg on Saturday to demonstrate against what she described as McLean’s “filthy way of life.” Shirley Phelps-Roper said his life was emblematic of Canada’s moral decay. “

  4. I read the story and all the comments – kind of makes me proud to be a Canadian to be honest. Not a single person that commented, 99% comments from people across Canada, approved of a single thing WBC said in that article – and even were beginning to rally a way to shut this insane group down (counter protests, getting a hold of the customs agency, and calling others to attend the funeral to stop these people).

    I am not sure what I would do if they protested a funeral of someone I knew – likely rage would be the first thing to deal with at such a highly emotional time. All I know is what WBC does is beyond sickening and flies in the face of common decency that I would have to decree they do not stand for God one iota. I would even go so far as to say they ‘stand against God’ in such ignorance. They also seem to be camera/media whores and get a kick off that also.

  5. Why not be nice to them? Take them food and water, sit and eat with them. Invite them into your homes, and make them comfortable. Offer them your coat, and your shoes. Bring them your life, for sacrifice.

    Or are we better than them?

  6. “Or are we better than them?” (Bruced)

    Of course we are not better than them…wait til my next post (written way before your comment – like 4:00 today). I agree Bruce, hate will not produce what we want.

  7. Good stuff. Reminds me of Prov 27:17 – “Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another.” I can’t tell you how much I’ve learned in these conversations. I am continually challenged to justify my beliefs and analyze them critically and fairly. It has led to more than a couple epiphanies.

    I’m curious, where did you get that translation of Gen 2:18? I’ve never heard of “against him” for that word. I looked up the phrase in BDB (a Hebrew lexicon) and found an extended literal translation: “a help corresponding to him i.e. equal and adequate to himself.” Hence, a “helper suitable” or “a complementing opposite.”

    Hehe… my wife and I are as different as we can be. After taking some personality tests through a class at seminary, we were told by a professor that “wow. You guys have communication problems.” We were floored cause he was right on, but he also encouraged us by saying that if we can work around those communication issues we would thrive: “For many couples, 1+1=2. For you guys, 1+1 could equal 4.” I think that is really what this that passage talks about… As we both bear the image of God, we incompletely reflect him by ourselves.

    Hehe, sorry if I totally hijacked your post. I’m on a gender kick from the conversations on our blog. Great thoughts, bro.

  8. “I’m curious, where did you get that translation of Gen 2:18?” (Brad)

    I got it from Rabbi Brad Hirschfield – in his book ‘You Don’t Have To Be Wrong For Me To Be Right’. This interpretation is coming from a Rabbi and the literal interpretation of what that passage means in Hebrew.

    I think he uses ‘against him’ because it is the most base translation of the passage – don’t ask me though I am no Hebrew scholar. Also I think ‘against him’ can be viewed many ways – I tended to see it as a complimenting opposite myself.

  9. the worst idea ever is to write Gen 2. should have just stopped after Gen 1… but we HAD to put the other tradition in there.. ugh. Rabbis never saw it as a “fall” but as a “Graduation” as humanity needed to learn the “world” before being released into the “real world” which God fully intended in the first place.

Leave a Reply

