Is Work Really a Curse?

Genesis 3:17-19

         “Cursed is the ground because of you;
         In toil you will eat of it
         All the days of your life. 
        Both thorns and thistles it shall grow for you;
         And you will eat the plants of the field; 
        By the sweat of your face
         You will eat bread,
         Till you return to the ground,
         Because from it you were taken;
         For you are dust,
         And to dust you shall return.”

I was just on holidays for 3 weeks. I stayed home for that whole time and here was my accomplishments:

  • attended 2 weddings in that time
  • yard work/inside minor repairs
  • hooked up Xbox 360 live
  • played a lot of video games
  • read a few chapters of books here and there
  • watched a lot of tv/movies
  • drank every weekend with people celebrating something
  • Made some BBQ now and then
  • Wrote a few blogs and commented on others

Basically, I suck. I mean it…3 weeks of that and I feel very ‘worthless’.

As much as Adam having to work the ground was a ‘curse’ – work does not seem to be a curse in and of itself. I am back at work today and man do I feel rejuvenated and meaningful again – like I have something to do and there is a damn good reason for it. I feel needed and wanted oddly enough. I feel more alive in a few hours than I did in almost anytime of that 3 week stint.

I like fun – but 3 weeks of fun do not make one feel fulfilled – that is for sure. Work provdes meaning to one’s life – it gives one ‘something to do’. I enjoy my job – so this makes it easy for me to be here – and as much as I yearned for those holidays – I am glad they are over.

6 thoughts on “Is Work Really a Curse?

  1. Hehe, I hear ya bro… I’m wrapping up my summer break, and while I did a few odd jobs and some Army training… I need a little more purpose and productivity than this…

    But the curse was not work itself, it was the increased toil in it. It was that his efforts would be hampered by thorns and thistles, etc. He had already been working for God, stewarding over His creation ((Gen 2:15). Work is awesome (most of the time).

  2. I think there is a ‘reward’ to working – of course monetary – but also responsibility wise. The level of responsibility that comes with working makes it very meaningful and rewarding. I guess we can call it job satisfaction – and that’s how I feel today – very satisfied to be back in a position of meaning.

    I started to realize that in my last few days of holidays I was struggling to find meaning in my amount of leisure. Even reading books was not quite doing the trick (although that learning did help a bit). I realized that I was being very un-productive and my life was becoming a blob of nothingness…too much of what was supposed to be ‘fun’ became ‘not fun’. Ah, maybe this is what is meant by ‘sin for a season’ as it is used these days – it was supposed to be fun – but too much fun sucked.

    On another note, last night prior to going to sleep (knowing I was going back to work the next day) I gave some thought to what kind of work makes me happy. I realized that I would be happy as a teacher/pastor in a church ministry – since I do care about the well being of people’s lives (a lot). I kind of ran it through my head and thought about it – and if I could find a pastoring job that paid what I make now at work – I probably would be interested. Weird huh.

  3. i hear ya dood. work is awesome and without the thorns, how challenging would that be?! i’m all for “THE FALL” as the garden sounds boring to me. like playing Halo 3 Campaign on God-Mode. no challenge=no fun for me.

    RAWK

  4. Jason

    “On another note, last night prior to going to sleep (knowing I was going back to work the next day) I gave some thought to what kind of work makes me happy. I realized that I would be happy as a teacher/pastor in a church ministry – since I do care about the well being of people’s lives (a lot). I kind of ran it through my head and thought about it – and if I could find a pastoring job that paid what I make now at work – I probably would be interested. Weird huh.”

    I heard a good one.

    “In life you can follow your bliss and the money will likely follow, if not, at least you have your bliss, but if you follow the money and it doesnt come, you have nothing.”

  5. You asked the right question, and Brad hit it. Work itself isn’t a curse. I’ve heard people say that they can’t wait to get to heaven because there won’t be any work there. I think there will be plenty of work for all eternity, just without the curse of weeds and destructive problems. I love to get at the yard or a project in the house and get ‘er done. Miller time is sweet (even though I hate Miller – bleh!) because you know you’ve accomplished something. A day’s work can be very fulfilling even with the muscles aching a bit.

Leave a Reply

