Church Experience Quiz (present or past)

I have been doing some blogging around the net and because I am one person with one set of experiences – I cannot speak for the whole state of the church (as much I try to anyways). I am going to ask a series of questions – answer if you want – and let me know how you see the church.

(1) What programs are offered at your church for people that are struggling with poverty in your community?

(2) How many people attend your church and how many of those people do you have close relationships with?

(3) Do you think church has made you a more ethical person? If so, why?

(4) If I had to ask you a % – what % of people in your church do you think are very moral people and would not hurt another soul?

(5) How do you wish the money in the church was being spent?

(6) What aspect of church do you find most rewarding?

(7) Concerning church focus – what % is on spiritual matter and what % is on here and now matters?

Also 2 more from Jolly Beggar:

(8) Is church a place that you go out to or go out from?

(9) Is church a group of programs or a group of people?

***I am just trying to find out more about church experiences for people in the present or in the past.

11 thoughts on “Church Experience Quiz (present or past)

  1. (1) What programs are offered at your church for people that are struggling with poverty in your community?
    None. 😦 People can give for foreign missions (mainly to Haiti); but nothing for those struggling locally. (The only times anyone local gets help is if they attend the church, and they’ve been affected by a tragedy — fire, death in the family.)

    (2) How many people attend your church and how many of those people do you have close relationships with?
    A few hundred or so; I’m not sure. I’m probably close to only a handful of them.

    (3) Do you think church has made you a more ethical person? If so, why?
    No.

    (4) If I had to ask you a % – what % of people in your church do you think are very moral people and would not hurt another soul?
    Probably most of them…maybe 95%?

    (5) How do you wish the money in the church was being spent?
    Helping the local poor.

    (6) What aspect of church do you find most rewarding?
    Interactions with others, and watching others interact with each other.

    (7) Concerning church focus – what % is on spiritual matter and what % is on here and now matters?
    Not quite sure how to answer this one.

    (8) Is church a place that you go out to or go out from?
    The way this is worded, go-to. 😦 (Really, it should be neither, IMO.)

    (9) Is church a group of programs or a group of people?
    Small-c “church” is the institution, to me. (Big-C “Church” is a group of people.)

  2. Society,

    It’s been a while since I commented here. Here goes…

    1) I’m not up on the list, but much of it is helping other established charities and organizations with their ministries. We also help people that come in contact with us on an individual basis.

    2) It’s now at about 600. The more it grows, it seems the less friends we have. We have hundreds of good acquaintences, a handful of friends but none close enough for our taste.

    3) I’d say so. Biblical ethics are applied to many areas of life at our church, so it’s easier to remember day to day.

    4) I’m not sure here. I don’t know anybody off hand that would hurt others willfully, and people are pretty tame in San Francisco area it seems.

    5) Helping average families or poor families adopt children or educate them.

    6) It’s been a while.

    7) 50-50? I never separate them, so maybe it needs to be 100-100.

    8) go out to.

    9) people, but sometimes you’d never know.

  3. (1) What programs are offered at your church for people that are struggling with poverty in your community?

    FEEDING THE HOMELESS, ANGEL TREE (SUMMER CAMP, THEN CHRISTMAS GIFTS FOR CHILDREN OF PRISONERS), AND MORE

    (2) How many people attend your church and how many of those people do you have close relationships with?

    300-500 PER SERVICE. 3 COUPLES WITH WHOM WE ARE GOOD FRIENDS.

    (3) Do you think church has made you a more ethical person? If so, why?

    YES. IT’S A BIBLE-BELIEVING CHURCH. FOCUSES ON TAKING THE MOTE OUT OF ONE’S EYE FIRST.

    (4) If I had to ask you a % – what % of people in your church do you think are very moral people and would not hurt another soul?

    TRICK QUESTION, AS WE’RE ALL CAPABLE OF CHOOSING SIN, BUT I AM IMPRESSED WITH THE CHARITABLE ACTIVITY OF THE CONGREGATION.

    (5) How do you wish the money in the church was being spent?

    SATISFIED, BUT I THINK MORE CAN BE DONE TO HELP SENIORS AND THOSE STRUGGLING ECONOMICALLY IN THE CONGREGATION. MORE “IN-REACH” AND NOT JUST ALL “OUT-REACH”.

    (6) What aspect of church do you find most rewarding?

    WORSHIPPING TOGETHER.

    (7) Concerning church focus – what % is on spiritual matter and what % is on here and now matters?

    APPLICATION IS IMPORTANT THERE. 50% ON THE MOUNTAINTOP (SPIRITUAL) AND 50% IN THE VALLEY (HERE, NOW) I’D SAY.

    Also 2 more from Jolly Beggar:

    (8) Is church a place that you go out to or go out from?

    OUT FROM, AT LEAST FOR ME

    (9) Is church a group of programs or a group of people?

    PEOPLE WHO MAKE UP PROGRAMS

    So there’s my answers. Take care.

  4. I’ll answer as if I was still in the church(es) I used to attend (all apostolic and pentecostal):

    (1) What programs are offered at your church for people that are struggling with poverty in your community?

    We had a meals for the neighborhood from time to time (like thanksgiving for example). There were clothes that were gathered and given out to the people as needed (not a program so much). In all honesty – there were no actual programs in the churches I went to dedicated to ‘in-reach’ – to the poor in the community I grew up in (which had the highest rate of poverty in the city). No actual funds were dedicated to this ministry.

    (2) How many people attend your church and how many of those people do you have close relationships with?

    At MorningStar Ministries – about 30 to 40 people on a regular basis – I was great friends with everyone there – and more than ½ of them I hung around with. In DaySpring Ministries – there was about 10-20 people on a regular basis. I knew everyone by name and we all could talk easily one with another…but I wasn’t as close with this crowd.

    (3) Do you think church has made you a more ethical person? If so, why?

    100% yes. Prior to getting an ethical paradigm to life (or even developing loving relationships) – I was a very cold dude without direction/guidance. I can make this claim – faith in God allowed me to get focused (educated/work), work on past issues of abuse (heal), take responsibility for my actions (no more denial), forgive those who let me down/hurt me (reperation), learn how to love, create a moral paradigm to live by, and develop hope in a hopeless situation.

    (4) If I had to ask you a % – what % of people in your church do you think are very moral people and would not hurt another soul?

    I think about 95% – 98% of the people I attended church with were very moral people – they were close minded but moral.

    (5) How do you wish the money in the church was being spent?

    I wish, and if I could see this happen, that all money would be used to set up programs to help alleviate the suffering of the poor and broken. Seting up programs like food/clothing help, daycare, senior care (visits), local attention to helping clean/fix the neighborhood houses/yards, career services for people in need of work, counselling, etc. I would that money were invested to help those in need where the church physically exists and the people, the whole congreagation, become a communal unit in partnership in all these things.

    (6) What aspect of church do you find most rewarding?

    I am a huge fan of community. I always loved meeting with the people, talking, sharing, and laughing. I enjoyed all of that – I actually miss it to some degree.

    (7) Concerning church focus – what % is on spiritual matter and what % is on here and now matters?

    80% there and then – 20% here and now.

    Also 2 more from Jolly Beggar:

    (8) Is church a place that you go out to or go out from?

    Church is a community – you do not ‘go out’to anything – you are part of it near and far.

    (9) Is church a group of programs or a group of people?

    Church is a community that helps develop and implement programs for the community.

  5. We’re having Thanksgiving dinner at my house today (Wed) so I only have a minute! I wanted to say that my church, which started on July 20, 2008, has a Thrift Shop and limited Food pantry (nothing perishable) and we serve about 600-700 people a month from there. Unless there’s a fire or something people prefer to pay for their goods but the prices are great. I think that if they can most folks like to feel like they’re paying their own way. If they can’t they won’t go without however.
    I do think that the congregation is very attune to helping others and they are moral folks who are trying to follow Christ.
    A church is not it’s programs, the programs are what we do to live out our faith.

  6. (1) We have a food bank in Columbia our church has been taking weekly collections for as well as a partnership in downtown at another church for a soup kitchen.

    (2) we have 150-ish members and i’m close with 20 of them… only because i’m the intern and am high profile.. normally it would be like 5.

    (3) yes as it got me to consider that there are other people on this planet and what i do matters to them.

    (4) right now i’m in the honeymoon stage with this congregation so i’d say 95%. haven’t met someone i havent’ liked yet!

    (5) we just had our budget meeting and i think it’s pretty much spot on.

    (6) the relationships.

    (7) 100% is on how the spiritual matters now and how the now matters to the spiritual.

    (8) i go out from

    (9) group of people

  7. (1) they’re in poverty because they have sinned!

    (2) i’m only friends with the holiest… namely me and my family!

    (3) yes because i don’t want to go to hell

    (4) me and i’m 100% of the church!!

    (5) no more on these stupid programs… we have a soundsystem that needs updated!

    (6) telling gays, divorced women, Canadians, Democrats, Union Workers, and other unbelievers that Jesus hates them and they’re going to hell.

    (7) 110% on spiritual because now doesn’t matter.. only when Jesus comes will that now matter.

    Also 2 more from Jolly Beggar: sounds like a pinko commie

    (8) Is church a place that you go out to or go out from? he is a pinko commie!

    (9) programs! if it were people, it’d be sinful and awful just like them. the church is different and infallible!

    (rawk!)

  8. Good questions!
    1. No programs, we just help who we can
    2 30 to 40, I’m close with them all , but I am their pastor.
    3 No. The Holy Spirit has done a work on me, bur church , no.
    4 100% try to be good, !00% fail on occasion
    5 We don’t have a lot of money, an we hope it stays like that.
    6 Watching people change
    7 If you take care of the spiritual it all should fall into place
    8 place to go out of to find your mission
    9 I do not like programs.
    If you had a church givven to you what would you do. Answer at my blog.

Leave a Reply

