Trickiness of Faith Definitions

Luke 16:10 “He who is faithful in a very little thing is faithful also in much; and he who is unrighteous in a very little thing is unrighteous also in much.”

Luke 17:4-5 “”And if he sins against you seven times a day, and returns to you seven times, saying, ‘I repent,’ forgive him.” The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith!””

or

Luke 12:28 “”But if God so clothes the grass in the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, how much more will He clothe you? You men of little faith!”

Defining faith – there seems to be 2 aspects in the gospels – depending on the usage.

(a) The first 2 passages reveal a type of ‘faith in action’ – faithfulness.

(b) The 3rd passage reveals another usage – faith in God (strength of your convictions – trust in God)

It is here where I wonder what does Paul means when he says “”The righteous will live by faith” or “justified by faith“?

I think he means both meanings – but namely that faith is something ‘we live by’. Even if you have confessional faith – a type of conviction faith – you still need to be faithful – since faithful is a term that encapsualtes what someone with faith is. Living by faith means living a life based on your faith – the teachings you have been given – concurrent with that trust in God aspect.  

I am comparing the terms ‘faith’ and faithfulness’ – but they are really one in the same for the person of faith. They are encapsualted in a word ‘faithful’ – faithful is no longer a word without ‘faith’ in it.

I can trust in God that my needs will be met – but I cannot become so blind that I do not use the teachings to build my life the best I am able to – from forgiveness to responsibility to prayer. If I forgo faithfulness – I also forgo faith.

Justification by faith – what does it mean?

2 thoughts on “Trickiness of Faith Definitions

  1. Excellent post.

    I believe that Justification by faith means that you are made Holy and righteous and acceptable to God by trusting in the actions of another…namely Jesus Christ.

    I believe that ‘faith’ is not belief in something (God) (the devil believes in God) but rather ‘trust’ (faith) in “someone”.

Leave a Reply

