Don’t Rob Me! Love Me!

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly” (John 10:10) 

Life has its share of pain and hurts…and they usually start with the ideas of what you most value being taken from you. The most important thing is not what you own – your possessions – these things you cannot take with you after you die. The most important thing in your life is…you

The thief exists not to rob you of what you own – but of you. Something gets stolen from you in a robbery – what troubles the victim is the lack of security/safety – and the fact someone stepped over this sacred line of respect. In the process life is affected. The thief is the person that creates this problem for you to deal with – with a mess of stuff taken, destroyed, or even killed. This is the enemy – and although we are not to have enemies – this does happen in life when someone steps over the respect of another (or fails to love their neighbor). 

So what do we do in those moments of hurt? Do we exact our revenge? Do we hate the person that hates us? No. We want those things pretty badly – but that is not really dealing with the pain. Life is about healing and finding a wholeness to life – or having ‘life – and at that abundantly’. 

The teachings take me there – to a point of dealing with life and seeking life. I am not only to love my neighbor as myself – but to even love a perceived enemy. The teachings take me from the lows of revenge and hatred to ideas of forgiveness, mercy, grace, and seeking peace. Finding life is about finding what is best for yourself – and being that person that seeks God’s will (ie: God’s will being the betterment of all of humanity – from neighbors to enemies – and for yourself in the process). 

Faith saved me in a way…this time around. I spent 3 years blogging on this stuff and putting out theories and making statements about what I truly believe…well…sometimes we really don’t know what we believe until its really asked of us. I know what I really believe now. 

My theories/teachings will not change one iota – they work – and provide life. My faith was so ingrained in me from the teachings and from shaping them in my life – enacting them and elaborating on them – so much so – that no matter what happens to me – they are my first point of reference in decision making (for me). Faith was found in my actions – faith was my actions – they were as separable as emotional is from physical aspects of my whole being. 

The part of humanity that troubles me still is the ‘thief’ – the immoral behaviors we do that seek to ruin lives – what I have termed as ‘evil’ or ‘sin’. The part of humanity that I love – is when people seek ‘life’ or ‘love’ – what I am terming as ‘morality’ – being ‘just’ to the teachings on life. This idea has been bolstered by my experiences. If we seek life (which to me is seeking God) – we seek the best outcomes for those around us; when we do not – we are seeking to cause trouble – and this is not the domain of God. 

So what am I? I am capable of all things – from the thief to seeking life. But I choose to seek life – abundantly (in all ways possible) – for all around me – which in turn provides me with more hope and happiness. I thank God for the teachings – they provided me with a paradigm to seek life and happiness…in times of pain and hope. My thankfulness is shown by my actions. I will seek life – not to steal, kill, or destroy – these things are not for the best in our communities (nor for me). 

So don’t rob one another! Let’s seek the best for one another – that builds up each other’s lives to the point of ‘overflowing’ (there is no end in this process).

6 thoughts on “Don’t Rob Me! Love Me!

  1. Faith saved me in a way…this time around. I spent 3 years blogging on this stuff and putting out theories and making statements about what I truly believe…well…sometimes we really don’t know what we believe until its really asked of us. I know what I really believe now. (Jason)

    Now this hits the nail on the head. I have always said “You dont know football, until you get tackled” 😉

  2. I agree with John. This is the core statement of your entire post. I am amazed at your response to this pain and challenge in your life. You, my friend, are a rock solid manifestation of what you have been saying all along. I especially am amazed at your willingness to be brutally honest with yourself. Keep it up.

  3. “The most important thing in your life is…you. ” svs

    There is no truer statement. Whether thinking about faith, love, forgiveness, family, future, past, present, education, etc… everything starts with you.

    We recognize evil in others becuase we recognized evil in ourselves first. We feel love for others when we see love for ourselves. IF not then we are hypocrites and give false testimonies to life. for example, someone who never drank alcohol in their life is not someone to talk to about alcoholic problems. What advice could they possibly know? They can say that alcohol is bad, but do you really believe them? That is why AA is effective, you are speaking to others about the same addiciton and problems. So it is with love, peace, forgiveness, etc..

    I encourage you to really be aware of yourself and your motiviations. If something creates fear or problems, try and understand why you feel that way. Another example, my son is awesome, but there are times when I realize I give him too much candy, junk, and let him have his way. Why? I fear will lose David becuase he doesn;t want to be with me. Also, Because I miss my own dad. i feel bad about the things I missed out on with my dad. So I over compensate with my son. Now realizing this, I try to treat my son with discipline and teach him to be indepedant, like a father should. I still spoil him ever now and then, but I realize that there is a balance. A balance not maintained by guilt or fear of losing my son. But a respect that he grows up strong and healthy.

  4. You know – and some Christians will hate this sentiment – but everything you know and do – flows through ‘you’.

  5. You know – and some Christians will hate this sentiment – but everything you know and do – flows through ‘you’. (Jason)

    I think I know what you are saying, but I think that the majority of Christians would agree with you. If I am right, what I think you mean to say is that most Christians would focus more on the ‘source’ of their strength and courage as coming from God. Well, most would say Jesus as they believe Him to be God, but that is another subject.

    If I were to try to clarify what I think I hear you saying, I would say that most Christians need take more ownership of their actions. Yes, you may turn to God when you need strength and guidance, but ultimately it is ‘you’ that must do what you know is right.

    When all we hear is Christians giving all the credit to God, it allows the masses to sit on their butts and ‘wait for the spirit’ to move them.

  6. “If I were to try to clarify what I think I hear you saying, I would say that most Christians need take more ownership of their actions” (Ken)

    I would say that is the crux of my thoughts concering the ‘self’ and ‘spirituality’. I have no problems with a spirituality that is responsible for its actions and can admit to that – to me that is very healthy. My problems start when people give too much credit to God and not enough to their personal role in the situation. I am not saying ‘do not thank God’ – but more ‘do not forget you have to enact the teachings’.

Leave a Reply

