The Frailty of OUR Human Reality…

Taken from ‘February Movie: Frailty” (A Wolf Vs. Blog)

Ian, does God change? I read a sentence like ‘i think if we were in OT times’ to mean God did change – from the OT to the NT (which is really a duality question – God of OT and this new God of the NT – which is obviously strange).

As long as your sin ISN’T too bad ‘god’ can use you to kill, if your sin IS too bad then ‘god’ can kill you and condemn you.” (Wilf)

Quote me on this ‘I serve a very complex God’.

God is Just – and requires justice – and as humans we know this urge all too well (if we lose a loved one to murder for example – the crook should not go unpunished – that’s way tooooo much grace). Dare I say – should that murderer even be forgiven? Oh the complexity of reality.

I have to believe God does use us humans as instruments of justice on some level…ie: the court system and what have you. We punish criminals – yes – you and I – because we support that court system and law force. Is that wrong? No.

So as much as frailty is overkill on the subject of divine justice in the hands of frail men – it is that way (on a less extreme level).

We have to dole out a level of justice where it is due – this is being a responsible person on some level. If someone attacks your child in your house – do you sit and hope for the end or intervene? It is unjust to sit and idly watch a crime happen like that – it is your duty to protect your family and home. We may not like an idea like that (and believe me I don’t) but home invasions do happen and people find themselves in situations like this.

Justice is left to us by God Himself (as far as I can tell) and we are little judges in this regards – a huge responsibility in frail peoples.

5 thoughts on “The Frailty of OUR Human Reality…

  1. “Do you not know that we will judge angels? How much more matters of this life?” 1 Cor 6:3

    a balance must be struck, you’re absolutely right! it’s a huge responsibility in frail and limited peoples. that’s why i don’t think the death penalty should be something we put in human hands. i find it ironic that the same people who are “born again” are those most likely to take away the chance of another to have the same experience… yeah scream for the “right to life”.

    it’s a messy world.

  2. I agree with Luke. Very messy world. Yet we do have a sense of justice that needs to be exercised. But we shouldn’t count ourselves as God as we exercise that sense of justice. We should still be just with compassion and love. Is this sense of justice that is innate within humanity evidence for God?

  3. I think an important question in regards to Justice would be. Is it punishment we seek or rehabilitation? And is it possible to have both with our current systems?

  4. and thus mimetic tension arises. retributive violence is alluring, but we must ask what does it solve? or does it create a whole new ball of problems?

  5. “that’s why i don’t think the death penalty should be something we put in human hands.” (Luke)

    But it is in human hands. I am not pro death penalty – but in some circumstances it can be warranted. When dealing with a serial killer – we are dealing with someone who had more than a second chance to stop – and yet did not – so what punishment is befitting for someone that takes multiple lives? If justice is to be justice – it’s hard to determine if that serial killer deserves the ‘right to life’ when they have decided that same thing for many others.

    “But we shouldn’t count ourselves as God as we exercise that sense of justice. We should still be just with compassion and love” (Doug)

    I agree…but in some cases justice has to be firm – for the punishment to fit the crime (I speak of actual crimes in this case). On a more personal level, our justice needs to be tempered with love and compassion – but according to the law also (a fine line to walk). For example, I have a ticket for speeding in my name from someone that I know (must of used my name). Do I avoid the law and pay it for them – or clear my name and let the law know what happened? It puts the other party in a place of responsibility for their actions – which needed not happen in the 1st place – but it wasn’t my fault I have a ticket in my name.

    Justice functions according to the law – or what would there be to be ‘just’ about? I like the idea of grace and love – I hold nothing over that person’s head that did this to me – but the law is what they broke so the law is where they need to answer this claim. With me, I can forgive and let it go – what I cannot let go is the fact the law says I have a speeding ticket when I did nothing of the sort…justice in a situation like that is about clearing one persons name and the other answering for their part.

    “Is it punishment we seek or rehabilitation? And is it possible to have both with our current systems?” (John)

    I always seek rehabilitation – this makes sense – and should be the focus of any prison system or program. However, this is not always going to work – and some 60%+ re-offend after their first trip to jail (short memories I guess). For some things punishment is required – as barbaric as that sounds – but I have a tough time not giving life or the death penalty to extreme cases (ie: multiple rapes or murders). Is some of this stuff even rehab-able? We really don’t know.

    I think the current system has the ability to help an offender ‘change their ways’ but it’s not much of a focus. Prisons function like housing faciltites where people do their time (and can choose to do very little in that time). The programs are usually voluntary on the offender’s part and their is no real program set up for the offender…as far as I know.

    “retributive violence is alluring, but we must ask what does it solve? or does it create a whole new ball of problems?” (Luke)

    I think retributive violence will not solve anything (on a personal level) – but likely will cause an enduring conflict which may hang over someone’s head for years. However, when that situation comes to your door and accosts you – you really have little choice in that matter except to defend your family (which is more right – non-violence or the safety of your family?). This is where judgement hits it’s toughest crossing.

    Not sure why I am on about justice – when I am so damn forgiving?

Leave a Reply

