When God becomes a man…

…Society loses it’s limitations.

I just finished reading parts of a book by a person from Saskatchewan ‘man’ claiming to be ‘the second Christ’. The book is part dan brown meets scientology meets ufo’s meets Christian theology meets bible code meets ashkenazi jew study meets CIA cover-up on a genetic program – meets revelations. Your basic Second coming of Christ theology with a new twist slapped on top for a unique measure. The book is easily the most confusing book I have ever read – and the worst written (amateur night when they let this man publish me thinks).

Anyways, that’s not my point – my point is this is what can (and usually does) happen when we make God into a ‘man’ (just like our neat little selves down here). Then we get a variety of human beings crawling out of the woodworks claiming the exact same thing. God is unique – I get this and always will – and is nothing like us humans. God even states that clearly in Exodus 20: 2- 4:

“I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery. You shall have no other gods before (or besides) Me. You shall not make for yourself an idol, or any likeness of what is in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the water under the earth.”

Now I know this is God speaking to the Israelites – but it reveals a lot about His character. There is not one person like Him and no image we have available on earth can actually represent Him…not even us (although we are admittedly created in God’s image). Doesn’t matter – we are not even like God in ‘image’ (being ‘on earth’ and all). This is a solid commandment and the most meaningful one – for good reason – breach this one and they can all fall like domino’s after it.

You see, this dude in Saskatchewan is not quite alone – he has many members in his category – you know that unique Christian that plays representative to God for all – or is God. Joseph Smith, Charles Taze Russell, Jim Jones, David Koresh, and you can likely name a few others. I have even sparred with people like this on-line – anyone remember the prophet Timothy (claimed to speak directly to Jesus in his blog and in his writings)? Needless to say – these are the same people that see Jesus as God and Man…and we dare to wonder where they garnered the audacity to make some of the claims they do – to godhood?

I am beginning to realize once we remove the mystery from the mysterious God who is wholly seperate in being to us – and we allow Him to be one of us in being – then we are not too far away from calling one of us God again. There are some things that are sacred for very good reasons – this is one of them.

8 thoughts on “When God becomes a man…

  1. – you know that unique Christian that plays representative to God for all – or is God. Joseph Smith, Charles Taze Russell, Jim Jones, David Koresh, and you can likely name a few others.(Jason)

    You seemed to have missed the originator in this list. Jesus. Seems to me he may have been the first deluded one.

    John 10:30-33 (English Standard Version)
    30 I and the Father are one.”

    31 The Jews picked up stones again to stone him. 32Jesus answered them, “I have shown you many good works from the Father; for which of them are you going to stone me?” 33The Jews answered him, “It is not for a good work that we are going to stone you but for blasphemy, because you, BEING A MAN, MAKE YOURSELF GOD.”

  2. “what happened to speedy and those ppl who were mourning the loss of their husbands?” (Luke)

    I am not sure – last I heard they were all looking at counselling and then nothing more was said…I really hope they get that all worked out in a very healthy way.

    “You seemed to have missed the originator in this list. Jesus. Seems to me he may have been the first deluded one.” (John)

    Here’s the thing John – I don’t think Jesus made those claims about himself since they go against the Torah (which he swore to uphold and would not change). It’s only in John (the gospel) and within pieces of Paul’s works that this idea is even presented (and I mean in very minut sections of Paul’s letters).

    Anyone that seriously studies every chapter John writes something about Jesus being equal to God (or God) can find many glaring inconsistencies on the subject – we’ll use John chapter 10 – where you pull this one passage from.

    John 10:18 “No one has taken it away from Me, but I lay it down on My own initiative I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This commandment I received from My Father.”

    That passage alone tells us about the ‘source’ of Jesus’ authority – seems to be God. If he was God – why not leave that 2nd sentence right out of the whole equation?

    John 10:29 “My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all…”

    Jesus is given his disciples – but better yet – admits the Father is greater than ‘all’ (does this include himself?).

    I would also say within this chapter of John there is some confusion about what the ‘messiah’ position means. See below.

    John 10:24b “How long will You keep us in suspense? If You are the Christ, tell us plainly.” (question asked – are you the messiah?)

    John 10:30 “I and the Father are one” (the writer seems to think being messiah = being God; when did this idea originate is the real question? John was written by 100BC (or later) and likely is Gentile in perspective)

    To further the confusion in just one chapter (see below):

    John 10:34 “Jesus answered them, “Has it not been written in your Law, ‘I SAID, YOU ARE GODS’?”

    Right after they claim Jesus is making himself to be God in verse 33 – this explanation comes up. Jesus just included all the people as being ‘gods’. Based on this passage below:

    Psalm 82:6 “I said, “You are gods, And all of you are sons of the Most High”

    That passage shows an inclusion of all people following God (in this case Israelites) as ‘sons of God’. Jesus may just be making a generic point from the Psalms – but the point is not singular (just him) but of all (all the listeners).

  3. What I want to know is, who is the god-man from Saskatchewan? It would be interesting to know if he has any followers. The followers would have to be more delusional than the guy making the claim.

    But isn’t god coming as a man something that is common in many ancient religions? Judaism and First Nation people may be the exception, however I am fairly certain that the Greeks, Romans, Egyptians, and possibly more cultures, were of the belief that god(s) came as men.

    I think the belief is more a less a means to an end. If god is a human or can come as a human, then we as people (humans) can control or at least influence god. Since he (she) is like us, god is therefore more willing to feel empathy for our situation and will grant our requests. A god who is like me, thinks like me, looks like me, must therefore care about me and my needs.

    I wonder if the Sask dude can make my fantasy football team the champ this year and every year after. And if he can, maybe I should ask for better things, cuz that football request seems so petty and selfish. I should ask for an end to diseases, racism, hypocrisy, and poverty.

  4. “But isn’t god coming as a man something that is common in many ancient religions?” (Just1)

    It is – but this seems to be the cornerstone of what the Torah teaches against – so Christianity shouldn’t be granted any exceptions if they believe they are building from Torah.

    I would also say this path to God being human (or us becoming gods) is just delusional thinking – power hungry type mentality. Why can’t we just be happy being humans?

    “A god who is like me, thinks like me, looks like me, must therefore care about me and my needs.” (Just1)

    True. It makes this god identifiable in many ways – and in ways we like. A god that doesn’t speak or make themselves known just bothers us humans.

    “I wonder if the Sask dude can make my fantasy football team the champ this year…” (Just1)

    I can find him and ask him – he’s in Regina somewhere – LOL.

    “The followers would have to be more delusional than the guy making the claim.” (Just1)

    I would say they are all about the same (if he has any followers and I think he has zilch). You gotta read some of this book – I have it at my house – you might be able to stomach a few chapters then you realize – absolutely none of this makes sense or is in any logical writing fashion…proving he is not the second Christ – one of the prophecies of the second Christ is his outstanding writing abilities (lol).

Leave a Reply

