The Problem w/Blaming God…

Accountability.

How can we blame an entity for our actions? It’s puzzling to me – in all honesty. The biblical ethics are a code of accountability which were given for our responsibility for our actions…have we been forewarned about what our actions entail?

I thought about this for a bit…I don’t blame God for people’s actions (or my own actions). When we are young we are under the responsibility of our parents – at this point they are responsible for our care (they are accountable for our well being). As we grow up we become accountable for our actions and responses (how we percieve what happened to us as kids and how we’ll react). How is it God becomes a blaming factor anywhere in there?

Maybe it’s just me thinking this – but I see a lot of blame going God’s way for some things which I am not sure is completely justified.

9 thoughts on “The Problem w/Blaming God…

  1. (As the devil’s advocate) Isn’t G-d to blame in the larger sense? If G-d created this world and the people in it, and the people are sinful by nature, isn’t G-d to blame for that? If G-d meddles in the affairs of humans daily and G-d helps some and not others, can’t I blame G-d for not helping everyone equally? If G-d tells people to start wars (wars against other nations, war on terrorists, war on obesity, etc…) can’t I blame G-d for that

    But I agree with my brother, I think we (humans) are too blame for what happens here on earth. We are destroying the planet, plants and animals, biospheres, other humans, etc… We are to blame for all of that. And the only people to fix it is us.

  2. “First he blamed Eve (she did it)..and then he blamed God (for giving Eve to him).” (Steve)

    So it is a human invention to blame God more or less?

  3. Do you mean this post in the sense of people asking why God let them do something that was bad (Adam telling God, “It’s not my fault I ate the fruit, you’re the one who gave me Eve), or people who wonder why bad things happen to other people?

  4. I think I mean it when people try to use God as the place for blame – which to me seems like a shifting of responsibility from ourselves to God.

  5. Society,

    I’m still not sure what the blame aspect means here, though. I’ll use two examples.

    1) I would agree with you if we had someone who murdered people, and then said to God, “You made me this way!” Or “You didn’t stop me!” That’s shifting the responsibility unto another party, and refusing accountability.

    2) I would disagree in the case where it came to light about the Catholic priests who raped children. When people can look at that and question why God didn’t stop it, I don’t view that as shifting responsibility. I view that as people saying that part of the responsibility people have is that when you know a crime occurs, you step in and stop it — which is why so many were upset with the Church itself, as it’s method of dealing with this was to move the priests to another parish, and thus create more victims. It’s along the lines of people saying, “Had I known, I would’ve stepped in and stopped it. Why didn’t God?” Because the outraged people asking that aren’t refusing accountability for their actions.

  6. “which is why so many were upset with the Church itself, as it’s method of dealing with this was to move the priests to another parish, and thus create more victims.” (OSS)

    But then shouldn’t the blame be apportioned correctly – onto the priests who committed the action and the church system that covered it up. I am not sure where we start blaming God in there? Where would we stop?

  7. Society,

    **I am not sure where we start blaming God in there? Where would we stop?**

    It would come down to the question of if you have the power to stop a crime that you know is occuring and don’t, how accountable are you? Are you accountable at all? Hence the rest of my paragraph where people could wonder, “If I had known about this, I would’ve stopped it. Why didn’t God?”

  8. “Hence the rest of my paragraph where people could wonder, “If I had known about this, I would’ve stopped it. Why didn’t God?”” (OSS)

    I also tend to find that line of reasoning kind of weird also. At what point does that stop? Having troubles in your marriage – why didn’t God intervene? Kid got beat up at school – God where were you? I mean, sure we can ask about God in the bigger things – but when we reduce it to each individual life…the questions can just be weird.

Leave a Reply

