Why I Am a Person of Faith…

Because I can see it’s importance in human relations.

We have a bunch of teachings that at their core are about being a ‘good neighbor’ (onus is on ourselves – not on others). I have to live in the real world where there are a lot of people in a lot of scenario’s and the best thing I can do is at least take a personal look at my treatment of people around me (and myself).  I need to examine my role in my relationships. I find faith addresses these concerns quite well. This is why I value faith and love to discuss it.

What I dislike about faith – which is driving me more and more away from faith – is the divisiveness of it and the way scripture is used in manipulative and condemning ways. It also manages to allow ordinary people a way to gain a form of power that can be used of others in a manner that is controlling (sometimes abusive). I think people should be taught to think for themselves and only be directed on how to read and elaborate on the scriptures for their personal lives…and it seems to me people are being controlled (mentally) in many churches. I don’t like that and I never have. So I rail against the ideas that allow this to continue…challenging others to mentally ‘break free’. Most people don’t even know they under some conditional control of the church (or other institution) – I serve as a reminder.

But my likes outweigh my dislikes – hard to tell on this blog but it is true. I only do what I do to establish conversation on issues that people may have not considered before or to push their limits so they can grow (as many have done with me). I guess within my concerns is my distaste…they co-mingle and reveal the depth of the human spirit to multi-task. I juggle faith and atheism within my own reality – knowing I was built upon faith as part of my core development into adulthood – only to see that life is more complex than I first realized – when I knew it all…now my knowing it all is becoming painfully my biggest weakness. I either graduate to open-ness or choke in certainty…I wanted to live.

Faith is not about certainty – it’s about direction. Abraham went as God asked him – from place to place – event to event – and his life was that of movement. Faith that stagnates (figures it all out) cannot be said to be drinking from ‘wells of living water’ exactly. To seek the kingdom of God is exactly that – a journey…we seek to find something we knew less of before. I like this about faith – even in my despair about faith – faith is something I seek, find, and do some more of.

10 thoughts on “Why I Am a Person of Faith…

  1. As you know, I am trying to understand the way people use “faith”. I think we can go through this post and substitute “my belief in God” for the word “faith” and stay true to what you mean. Or we could substitute:
    “my religion” and it would work too.

    But the word “faith” carries so many more connotations and it sounds heavier than it needs to be. I think to come to grips with what you are really saying, these substitutions would be helpful.

    Don’t you think?

  2. “But the word “faith” carries so many more connotations and it sounds heavier than it needs to be. I think to come to grips with what you are really saying, these substitutions would be helpful. Don’t you think?” (Sabio)

    I am using faith here in the sense of having a faith – now although I belong to no church I am using the word as a ‘noun’ (subject)…so one could substitute ‘religion’ for the word ‘faith’.

    I think it does sound heavy – agreed – but it is…it requires a lot of thinking on my part to figure out what I like and dislike about having faith – and why this makes me happy and irks me all in one.

    Mine is the search for what I am calling a ‘living theology’. In that, what I think (from scripture) has to meet with reality (experience) and become something productive (meaningful for me or others around me). Any system of beliefs that does not approach religion/faith in this way will always be suspect to me – in that I don’t think it is capturing the essence of the written words in letters, gospels, and books.

  3. like John, i LOVE the last paragraph. faith with direction that doesn’t shame or exclude or set up false dichotomies. that’s something i can get behind!

  4. “now although I belong to no church” Hmmm?

    Do you belong to Jesus?
    He is the head of the body, the ekklesia, the called out ones, the church.
    How about “His Church?”

    And to which “Faith” are you referring?

    Hab 2:4 his faith
    Mt 6:30 little faith
    Mt 8:10 great faith
    Mt 9:2 their faith
    Mt 9:22 thy faith
    Mt 9:29 your faith
    Mt 17:20 have faith
    Mt 23:23 and faith
    Lu 17:5 our faith.
    Lu 17:6 had faith
    Lu 18:8 find faith
    Ac 3:16 through faith
    Ac 6:7 the faith
    Ac 6:8 of faith
    Ro 1:7 from faith
    Ro 1:12 mutual faith
    Ro 1:17 to faith
    Ro 3:28 by faith
    Ro 4:9 that faith
    Ro 4:20 in faith
    Ro 10:17 faith cometh
    Ro 14:22 thou faith
    1Co 13:2 all faith
    Ga 3:25 faith is
    Ga 5:6 but faith
    Ga 5:22 is faith
    Eph 4:5 one faith
    Eph 6:23 with faith
    2Th 1:4 and faith
    2Th 3:2 not faith.
    1Ti 1:19 Holding faith
    1Ti 5:12 first faith
    2Ti 1:5 unfeigned faith
    2Ti 2:22 follow faith
    2Ti 3:10 my faith
    Tit 1:4 common faith
    Heb 11:1 Now faith
    Heb 11:6 without faith
    Heb 13:7 whose faith
    Jas 2:14 hath faith
    Jas 2:17 so faith
    Jas 2:18 my faith
    Jas 2:20 that faith
    Jas 2:22 was faith
    2Pe 1:1 precious faith
    Jude 1:20 holy faith

    Or F.A.I.T.H.

    Forsaking All I Trust Him.

    “Faith is not about certainty – it’s about direction” Amen…

  5. “Do you belong to Jesus?” (Amos)

    I follow Jesus’ teachings unto direction in life – yes.

    “How about “His Church?” (Amos)

    Well which one is his? There is over 3000 some denominations – all claiming they are the ‘way’…so when we speak of church – what do we really mean?

    “And to which “Faith” are you referring?” (Amos)

    Faith as a noun. As in I am not an atheist, I belong to a ‘faith’. In this case it’s following Jesus’ teachings.

  6. wiki says there are about 38,000 denominations. Wow!!!

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Christian_denominations

    “Well which one is his? There is over 3000 some denominations
    – all claiming they are the ‘way’…
    so when we speak of church – what do we really mean?”

    How about this for “Church?”

    Jesus calls it “My Church.”

    Matthew 16:18
    I also say to you that you are Peter, and upon this rock I will “build” My church;
    and the gates of Hades will not overpower it.

    It seems the word “build” also suggests to build up and to edify.

    I will build up and edify my “assembly” of “called out one’s.”

    Kinda goes along with what you were saying.
    A journey. Abraham obeying God.

    3618 oikodomew oy-kod-om-eh’-o
    KJV – build 24, edify 7, builder 5, build up 1, be in building 1, embolden 1; 39

    1) to build a house, erect a building
    1a) to build (up from the foundation)
    1b) to restore by building, to rebuild, repair
    2) metaph.
    2a) to found, establish
    2b) to promote growth in Christian wisdom, affection, grace, virtue, holiness, blessedness
    2c) to grow in wisdom and piety

    If the word ekklesia also means “a calling out” then when
    we’re “called out” of one thing we often wind “in” something else.

    Jesus didn’t reform “the corrupt religious system”
    of His day.

    He left it.

    And took a bunch with Him…

    Jesus’ disciples were “called out” of “the Religious System”
    “Into” a relationship with God in the flesh. Jesus.

    I’m seeing Jesus as the “only head” of the body,
    the ekklesia, the called out one’s, “The Church.”

    Can’t seem to find denominations in the Bible. Hmmm?

    The “disciples of Christ,” are “the Church.”
    the ekklesia, “the called out one’s.”

    They are “called out” of the religious system
    “into”
    a relationship with Jesus.

    They are “called out” of the worlds system
    “into”
    the Kingdom of God.

    They are “called out” of self
    “into”
    the body of Christ.

    They are “called out” of sin
    “into”
    righteousness.

    They are “called out” of bondage
    “into”
    liberty.

    They are “called out” of darkness
    “into”
    light.

    They are “called out” of death
    “into”
    life.

    Jesus loves me. Gives me Liberty.

  7. “wiki says there are about 38,000 denominations. Wow!!!” (Amos)

    “many of which cannot be verified to be significant…” (wiki)

    I am not sure there is over 38,000 Christian denoms – in the article they reference they admit to taking in cultural distinctions – which may mean a Pentecostal version of the same denom can be seen some 100+ ways (depending on how many countries adhere to this form of Christianity).

    I even think my guess of 3000+ is high.

    “Jesus didn’t reform “the corrupt religious system”
    of His day.” (Amos)

    I notice you have Jesus mentioning his ‘church’ here in Matthew (which the passage does mention…I’d be interested in the greek for church there). Did you know that no such thing as ‘church’ has existed up or prior to Christ…there is no uniform place called church in his society. They had the temple and he synagogue. Thus the need for definition of ‘church’.

    “If the word ekklesia also means “a calling out” then when
    we’re “called out” of one thing we often wind “{up}in” something else.” (Amos)

    I am not sure they were called out of the religious system of the day – only the corrupt ideals/morals of the day. Jesus actually never details the building of a church – and what that will look like. Although this is what happens it is unsure if this is a new religion (which it became) and not an addendum to the old one (Judaism and the messianic hopes within it).

    However, I the way you speak of church is in a way that seems to be more mystical in nature versus actual religion…true?

  8. i could just see when christ said “Peter, upon you i shall build my church.”

    peter would say “uhh.. great!…?… umm.. Jesus.. what’s a church?’

    historical-critical.. it’s your friend. learn it and you’ll love it!

  9. “However, I the way you speak of church is in a way that seems to be more mystical in nature versus actual religion…true?”

    True – Yes – religion is the system NOT the relationship.

    In the Bible, no one ever went to church.

    In the Bible, they became “the Church of God.”

    Jesus is the head of “the body,”(the ekklesia, the called out ones), “the Church.”

    The body of Christ and the Church of God are the same, always people.

    Did Jesus shed His blood for an institution, a building,
    an organization, or a corporation?

    Should we call a corporation “The Church?”

    Acts 20:28
    … to feed the church of God, which he hath purchased with his own blood.

Leave a Reply

