Adjusting To A Violent World

Sabio Lantz wrote a great post on a person’s violence policy (even had a survey). I loved the post so I figured I would use my comment from there state my opinions on violence/non-violence.

I see it this way:

No violence is the absolute ideal – and should be the way I live my life all the time. Based on – I would not want someone to punch me – why would I punch them? I see no need for violence.

However, the standard can be broken to ‘save life’ (since life is of more importance than a stupid ideal). In cases like these, helping someone out, I would step in but non-violently at first. If this cannot be resolved in this manner, I would then use violence as a defence but not to ‘threatens one life’ (if it went to that level). Always seek peace, but if peace cannot avail, you have to help how you can.

It’s kind of a intricate stance to take – but it makes sense (to me). It’s also quite realistic, since life in the West can be lived quite non-violently. There will be small skirmishes here and there, but even then it does not have to lead to furthering the pattern of violence.

2 thoughts on “Adjusting To A Violent World

  1. Firstly its important to define violence. Words cut as deeply if not more than fists do. Also, would you consider the punch from a fellow boxer to be violent? I believe intention behind many actions determine whether it is violent or not. The action in itself is not that definitive. Imagine watching a pair of martial artists practicing their art. From a distance it may seem violent, yet in reality they were in the process of transporting their spirits to a place of peace.

  2. “Firstly its important to define violence” (John)

    Good point. To me, violence is anything that seeks to wilfully destroy or maim your neighbor. I believe words are part of that as well as physical violence to ‘harm’ your neighbor.

    I actually do think martial arts (like mma) have a violent aspect to them, but also have an aspect that isn’t (ie: the discipline)…it’s a fine line to walk. I would say mma is violent, mitigated violence mind you, but violence nonetheless. However, I also see the sport in it so I don’t have much problem with it. Would I ever do it…likely not.

Leave a Reply

