Determination of Ethics

My brother has been writing a great piece on this and it’s intrigued me.

I have ethics that I live by and I use a formula something like this to determine them:

Situation – bounced off biblical ideal – mixed with pragmatic 21st century solution – based in experiences that have worked prior.

Ethic: “also known as moral philosophy is a branch of philosophy that addresses questions about morality—that is, concepts such as good and evil, right and wrong, virtue and vice, justice, etc.” (taken from Wikipedia – Ethics).

I think we all develop an ethic of some sort that works for us.

How do we determine our ethics? What are key pieces that determine your ethics.

This might be my subject for 2011 I am thinking.

4 thoughts on “Determination of Ethics

  1. I can’t say I have a formula. The situation or the question dictates a lot of it for me.

    Some combination of expected consequences/outcomes, desired consequences/outcomes, and guesses at the probability of the two lining up.

    The less I use the word ‘should’ and the more I use the word ‘is’ the better I feel about my ethics, strangely.

    (btw, got you to my blogroll, if that’s all right.)

  2. I think I actually agree with you completely on that one. But in those last two steps I try not to water down Jesus’ teachings too much. There’s so much explaining that goes along with his words, and I know he exaggerated and used funny examples, but he did mean what he said. So it’s easier to be a camel and go through a needle than to be rich and go to heaven. Obviously that’s not literal, but it’s really really hard to be rich and still live a moral life.
    Also, I really really hope that’s your topic for a while, I’d love to read about it regularly!

Leave a Reply

