Honoring/Remembering a Mom

On January 14, 2011 my mother passed away at the age of 67. It really filled me with a sense of loss and a need to honor her memory. We held the funeral service on the Peepeekisis Reserve and every one of her kids said something in remeberance of her…it was very meaningful.

I didn’t get to share everything I would have so I am going to share my last piece of my speech right here (which is basically a song I wrote in Dec 2010). My way of remembering and honoring someone that gave me everything I am today.

The song was called ‘Beyond the Scars’ (link shows my reverb page where the song is saved)

Beyond the Scars

There’s a feeling I get
When you’re not here
I look inside my eyes

Just behind my eyes
There’s something inside
Everything I choose to hide

Love is just a dream
Of everything unseen
Love is not that far
Beyond the scars

You make me believe
In something unreal
It’s just the way I feel

Locked deep inside
The best part of life
Waits to come alive

Love is just a dream
Of everything unseen
Love is not that far
Beyond the scars

Now everything has its moment
As fleeting as this one is
Now everything has its meanings
As meaningless as this one is

There’s a feeling I get
When you’re not here
I look inside my eyes

Just behind my eyes
There’s something inside
Everything I choose to hide

Love is just a dream
Of everything unseen
Love is not that far
Beyond the scars

Beyond the stars
Beyond the stars
Beyond the stars

11 thoughts on “Honoring/Remembering a Mom

  1. Jason- I know you miss her. It’s only natural (lost my Dad six years ago last week). We all have our appointment with death. When I finally realized (really realized) that fact, it has been easier for me to deal with. I send healing thoughts your way and hope you are comforted by past memories of your Mom.

  2. Hi. I am so sorry about the loss of your mother. I too lost my mother March 24, 2010. The following is a poem I found. I don’t know the author but the poem sure described my mother:

    The most beautiful word on the lips of mankind is the word “Mother,” and the most beautiful call is the call of “My mother,” It is a word full of hope and love, a sweet and kind word coming from the depths of the heart. The mother is every thing – she is our consolation in sorrow, our hope in misery, and our strength in weakness. She is the source of love, mercy, sympathy, and forgiveness. He who loses his mother loses a pure soul who blesses and guards him constantly

Leave a Reply

