Audacity of Assumption

The blog world is nothing like the real world, we don’t have handshakes and stare-downs for example.  So it becomes laughable when ‘assumption’ happens about someone because they label themselves as something – ie: a Christian for example.

Now I am guilty of ‘assuming’ as well, but I full well realize someone that says they are ‘atheist’ or ‘construction worker’ is not going to mean they all have the same traits, beliefs, or even ideas. However, this does happen a lot when I meet some new atheist who has thoughts about what I am and what I should believe based on their own ‘notions’ of what a Christian is.

For example, I don’t think the bible teaches against the rights of gay people. I just cannot find where that idea over-rides the idea to ‘treat others how you want to be treated‘…sorry – in the level of importance – that idea does not even really weigh in on the way I treat the people around me. Thus, when I say the bible contains some of that teaching against homosexuality – it seems to do that – however it does not mean I adhere to that. Call it picking and choosing, whatever, last time I checked the bible pretty much starts with Adam having that right (ie: choice/decision).

‘Oh my gawd, he’s so unbiblical’, they bemoan concerning my literalism of the texts. I say ‘so what’? I wasn’t even born a literalist concerning life and interpreting it so why start doing that with scripture exactly? I don’t know what people think, but I can guess by the look on their face and the mood they portray…but that ain’t literalism either – that’s assumptive in nature. Unless they actually ‘tell me’ the way they feel then I am kind of stuck. I see the texts that way as well. They aren’t just literal, they aren’t telling you something directly…some of it is parable, some of it colored in narrative, and some of it meant to be interpreted and re-interpreted.

The audacity of someone to think I need to believe this or that to be considered a Christian…the joke is on you really…I assumed you knew me.

10 thoughts on “Audacity of Assumption

  1. I *SO* appreciate this post. The assumptions of others has been a thorn in my side when it comes to labeling myself a Christian.

    That said, I’ve pretty much let them win. I don’t feel like fighting the assumptions that come with the label anymore. It just feels like my beliefs (and lack of beliefs) put me so far outside mainstream or even liberal Christianity that even I don’t know if it’s a useful label to use for myself anymore.

  2. I agree Kay, but the labels and assumptions people will make will continue…people have their assumptions about everything – including what your faith should look like. Personally, I disagree with them.

  3. There are so many assumptions out there, I hate the fact that when I say I’m a “Christian” to someone they automatically assume so much. This happens so much in the online world, but also in the real world and in our churches. People assume SO much when they know so little.

    Yet I realize that I at times am guilty of the same thing. I think in part it’s just part of human nature, not that we should just accept it. But I see no other reason why it would be so prevalent in the world.

    I really liked this post because I think its something we all need to be aware off. When we make assumptions we can miss out on so much. We all need to be aware of the assumptions we are making.

  4. I agree Curtis…we all make assumptions – must be the need for our brain to compartmentalize and thus lead to generalizations/categories for people and their ideas/beliefs.

  5. what would you know about assumptions? being a white, male aged 46, living in LA with two dogs, a siamese cat, a BMW motorcycle, and a honda civic. you know nothing about assumptions.

    😉

  6. Just wanna tell that this is very useful , Thanks for taking your time to write this. “I would much rather have men ask why I have no statue, than why I have one.” by Cato the Elder.

  7. You can certainly see your expertise within the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart. “Faith in the ability of a leader is of slight service unless it be united with faith in his justice.” by George Goethals.

Leave a Reply

