The ‘Jesus’ Syndrome

when we are so critical of the church we need look no further than ourselves for the solution of what is wrong with the church” (Carolyn)

Nice in theory and I would normally agree with it (and partially do – we need to be the change we want to see). However, in the case of the church it’s dictatorship, which i am going to call the ‘Jesus syndrome’. In that most Evangelical leaders, and Catholic leaders, take the role of a Jesus (or Moses) figure to their congregation. In this sense, their teachings become untouchable and unchangeable until they are removed as the problem blocking change. They play leader in the new gospel story (theirs) – played out in each church.

Our pastors could be a whole lot healthier spiritually if we would pray for them” (Carolyn)

They won’t be (better off) because even at their most humble – their position doesn’t allow them to change. I can see some of the pastor conundrum, not only do they let the power get to their ‘ego’s’ but the parishioners allow it and want it (IE: a sense of security and safety in that leader). The problem isn’t we can pray for them, but to what end…isn’t some of our hopes in that they are stable and do not change?

2 thoughts on “The ‘Jesus’ Syndrome

  1. I resonate with your struggle around Christians (esp. clergy) who are resistant to change. For me personally, I’ve been finding myself evolving in some interesting ways. Having been an Episcopal priest for 20 years and now a pastor of a non-denominational church for 5 years, my old dualisms and paradigms are taking some creative detours. What’s even more fascinating to me is that I’m seeing this journey take me even deeper into the message of the Bible and into the heart of Jesus Himself (Background snippet: I am a child of the Episcopal Charismatic Renewal of the 70’s). The Holy Spirit has encouraged and assisted me in facing many of my points of resistance, allowing me to experience freedom that I previously never really knew existed. Anyway, I guess the (ongoing) result of all this is my growing disenchantment with traditional Christianity and a growing love for God. I am finding there is a growing number of born again Christians who are breaking free of the judgmentalism and narrow-mindedness that has become so indigenous to so much of contemporary Christian community. For what it’s worth, I’m writing this to you to share my belief that God is about “new wine” and that I am seeing this unfold in many different arenas. Thank you for your honesty and creativity and passionate pursuit.

  2. Thanks Scott! Much appreciated words!

    “Anyway, I guess the (ongoing) result of all this is my growing disenchantment with traditional Christianity and a growing love for God.” (Scott)

    I can totally identify. My problems relate to the way God is used in churches and many times used as a manipulative tool for moving the masses. However, I have found that as I grew in my faith I left the church behind, not because it was bad or anything, just wanted to continue to grow.

Leave a Reply

