Huckabee-isms, Faith, and Common Sense

I notice a lot of American Christian people support Mike Huckabee – and for good cause – he is a man of faith ‘My faith is my life – it defines me. My faith doesn’t influence my decisions, it drives them’ (Huckabee). So it makes sense to support him of you are a person of Christian faith (not Muslim as we will see in a bit). But what are some of the stances Christians who support Mike are getting behind?

(1) Abortion: “I support and have always supported passage of a constitutional amendment to protect the right to life…I believe that Roe v. Wade should be over-turned.…I have always been actively and aggressively pro-life” (Huckabee)

(2) Health Care: “We don’t need universal health care mandated by federal edict…We do need to get serious about preventive health care…I advocate policies that will encourage the private sector to seek innovative ways to bring down costs and improve the free market for health care services.” (Huckabee)

(3) Marriage: “I support and have consistently supported passage of a federal constitutional amendment that defines marriage as a union between one man and one woman” (Huckabee)

(4) Immigration: “In this age of terror, immigration is not only an economic issue, but also a national security issue…I oppose and will never allow amnesty.” (Huckabee)

(5) War: “As President, I will fight this war hard, but I will also fight it smart, using all our political, economic, diplomatic, and intelligence weapons as well as our military might…I will expand the army and increase the defense budget” (Huckabee)

(6) Israel: “As President, I will always ensure that Israel has access to the state-of-the-art weapons and technology she needs to defend herself from those who seek her annihilation” (Huckabee)

(7) Gun Control: “The Second Amendment is primarily about tyranny and self-defense, not hunting. The Founding Fathers wanted us to be able to defend ourselves from our own government, if need be, and from all threats to our lives and property…I consistently opposed banning assault weapons and opposed the Brady Bill.” (Huckabee)

He opposed a gun control bill – and there was just another shooting at shopping mall in Nebraska (and Huckabee was supporting automatic weapons) – that’s how many shootings in the last few years (obviously this is a problem in America)? He is pro-life but also pro-war – huh? Okay is murder bad or allowable in certain scenarios? He says a ‘no’ to universal health care but gives no real answers to the health care problem (let the market decide this). Wants to promote armed resistance in the Middle East – both in Iraq and around Israel. Seems to think gay marriage also leads to the destruction of the family – and provides no proof of it.

If his faith directs him – I will ask – as a Christian person (or a person of faith) – do these views represent you accurately? Or do I smell someone new pandering to the idea faith will get him elected? I don’t think this person is guided by faith but Republican initiatives and search for more power.

A politician next door
Swore
He’d set the Washington arena on fire
Thinks he’ll gladiate ’em
But they’re gonna make him a liar

Well, he’s a good ol’ boy
Who was born and raised
In the buckle ‘o the Bible belt
But remember when you step into the voting booth
He’ll never lie, he’ll just embellish the truth

Promises were made to be broken, huh?
You’ve got to play the game to win
When you need supporting
Tell ’em that you’re born again
Whatever happened to sin?

Steve Taylor (Whatever Happened to Sin? – 1982)

27 thoughts on “Huckabee-isms, Faith, and Common Sense

  1. I think he went into producing with new bands – as far as I know. I am just a huge fan of his ideas on things – he is very to the point about issues. I really dig the guy even to this day – since not much has changed since his revelations via music.

  2. Huckabee is my man. Thompson is my second choice. As an American and a Federalist (look it up on Wikipedia), I believe the Second Amendment is not only unique to the U.S., but is one of the reasons we have the lowest violent crime rates in Western civilization. Every nation that has increased gun control has increased gun violence. I don’t understand the arrogance or ignorance that thinks that repeating this failed gun control agenda is a good idea.

    Also, until the U.S. fully explores the benefits of tort reform and Health Savings Accounts (HSAs) and their affect on the health care system, we shouldn’t be handing our healthcare over to a government that can’t hand out water or provide temporary relief for Hurricane victims…

  3. Yes sir, I am for Huckabee for all 7 reasons you put up there. His faith is a bonus.

    Just a couple of comments:

    1. I had full heath care coverage until I was 48. Now I am 60 and have been without it–well you do the math. I am against univeral health care. It never was a right–and why should you pay for my health care. You can if you want, but I sure don’t expect you to. So my friend, if you are really worried about universal health care, then the next time I am sick, I will send you my bill and you can help me pay it. How about it: Yes or No?

    2. Huck is against gun control; there was a shooting in Omaha–and your point is??

    Hillary is against prohibition–another teenager was killed by a drunk driver tonight??

    3. He is pro-war??? You want to give some reasonable evidence of that???

    4. “Seems to think gay marriage also leads to the destruction of the family – and provides no proof of it.”—————-I do believe the Bible has something to say about that. It is called SIN.

    5. “Or do I smell someone new pandering to the idea faith will get him elected? I don’t think this person is guided by faith but Republican initiatives and search for more power.”——–Well, since he was an ordained Baptist pastor long before he went into politics, that is, faith before politics, you have it wrong again.

    Yep, those 7 views you put up there, they are my views to a T. They are not unusual views for millions of Americans. You just refuse to believe it, so you bash a man running for President who wholes those views like so many of we Americans.
    fishon

  4. “I don’t understand the arrogance or ignorance that thinks that repeating this failed gun control agenda is a good idea.” (Recovering)

    So you think the more guns in a country – or freedom to have those arms – actually results in less gun crime? That makes about as much sense as saying people who smoke by gas pumps are less likely to have an accident which includes something blowing up.

    I would ask – what use does a handgun have in your society that makes it awesome to own? To me, and I am stating an opinion, Huckabee seems weird and his views on gun control sounds more based in paranoia than reality (go and read his comments for yourself). For some odd reason, Huckabee thinks we need to have arms to defend ourselves from the gov’t – or if he wins president – him.

  5. Jefe, I think Huckabee has some good stands – like looking for new energy resources and the Arts and Creativity thing he talks about. But is this a Christian stance – by no stretch would I say that about his agenda (which you haven’t – I am just making a point more or less).

  6. “So my friend, if you are really worried about universal health care, then the next time I am sick, I will send you my bill and you can help me pay it. How about it: Yes or No?” (Fishon)

    How’s about we do something even more radical – lets develop church communities that care for those that don’t have health care. Why should I pay for your healthcare when we as a community can shoulder that load? I am all for that idea – whereas in Canada – I don’t need to worry about that problem – even the homeless are covered for healthcare…are the homeless covered for healthcare in the USA?

    “Huck is against gun control; there was a shooting in Omaha–and your point is??” (Fishon)

    Well easy – what kind of gun was involved in the shooting? Was it an automatic of some sort? Instead of Huckabee worrying about the gov’t attacking it’s own as justification for owning all kinds of guns – maybe he should start addressing all the vicious gun attacks that have in happened in America over the last 15 years…almost all of them involve weapons that have no use but in war (handguns and automatics). That’s my point to the tee. To me the answer is easy – eliminate weapons that have no use in society except to be used in warfare – why is that such a bad platform.

    “He is pro-war??? You want to give some reasonable evidence of that???” (Fishon)

    Uhh yeah…go to his website and check for yourself – but if not – his stance can’t be more clear than this – ‘I will fight this war hard’. He wants to make sure Israel has weapons, he wants to build the army and spending on defense, and his stupid 2nd amendment right stance is about keeping guns in your cities that are actually weapons of war – I think it is very safe to assume he is a ‘pro-war’.

    “.”I do believe the Bible has something to say about that. It is called SIN.” (Fishon)

    Well then prove it destroys the actual family…that’s what i asked. Huckabee says this but does very little to back his point up with good reasoning – and his reasoning for all I know could very well be the same as yours – like ‘just because’ is the reason.

    “Well, since he was an ordained Baptist pastor long before he went into politics, that is, faith before politics, you have it wrong again.” (Fishon)

    Well on closer examination most of his stances could be argued to be anti-biblical in nature (by some) while they could not be argued to be non-Republican…booyakasha! Touche! Riddle me that Fishon?

    “You just refuse to believe it, so you bash a man running for President who wholes those views like so many of we Americans.” (Fishon)

    But are those views biblical – I don’t care if they are American – can they be lined up with a loving God who sacrificed his son for us? I am not bashing Huck – I am pointing out that he is not the next coming of Jesus – he is just another Republican with conservative views – and should that win him the Christian vote? I would say ‘no’.

  7. societyvs,
    I don’t have much time as a Christmas party is in the offing soon, but will respond a little.

    First, you and I are so far off in much of what we believe will never come to an agreement. So, I won’t even try an go into any details in my responce.

    1. There are some Christian health care options out there for me–I choose not to inrole. Canadian health care–Oh yea, that is why so many mothers to be are coming down to Washington and Oregon from BC to have their babies. Could say more, but won’t.

    2. You write: “To me the answer is easy – eliminate weapons that have no use in society except to be used in warfare – why is that such a bad platform.”
    By the way, I have rifles and hand guns. I don’t need or want an AK47, but in the “Land of the free,” who am I to tell someone they can’t own one? Of course, you would probably agree with the folks that want me to stop eating Trans-fats?
    —–Oh my friend, there are lots of things that have no use in society [but who makes that decision?] but, then, that is America.
    —-Can you tell me what good use alcohol has in society. So where is your crusade to make Canada alcohol free? More people are killed in Canada by drunk driving than guns, so what are YOU doing about it.

    3. Huck said, “I will fight this war hard.” And you think war should be fought easy? Pray tell, how do you do that? Pro-war, no, he isn’t. But if we are at war we should fight to win.

    4. You write: “Well then prove it destroys the actual family…that’s what i asked.” If you don’t understand the family concept and principles of the Bible, then I can’t say anything that will help you. Bible biblical definition, the marriage of a man and woman is a marriage. If you can site from the scriptures where there was marriage between a man and man or woman and woman…well you can’T. And by the way, if they live together, no big deal, but if they have sex together, man and man–woman and woman–SIN.

    5. You write: “Well on closer examination most of his stances could be argued to be anti-biblical in nature (by some) while they could not be argued to be non-Republican…booyakasha! Touche! Riddle me that Fishon?”
    —–Which one is anti-biblical? Scripture and verse? You’ll have to do some big stretching on that.

    6. You write: “But are those views biblical – I don’t care if they are American – can they be lined up with a loving God who sacrificed his son for us?”
    —–There is nothing of which you have brought up that is unbiblical in Huck’s, views.

    And no, he is not the next coming of Jesus. Why who has even intimated such a thing. See, you dislike conservative opinons so much that you see things [next coming of Jesus] that our outrageous on its face.

    Listen, I do enjoy this, but if you don’t answer that’s ok. You see, I just bet you are as opinonated as me. And I am guessing just as immovable on your position as I am.
    fishon

  8. don’t need or want an AK47, but in the “Land of the free,” who am I to tell someone they can’t own one? Of course, you would probably agree with the folks that want me to stop eating Trans-fats?

    I don’t think this is an apt comparison. Someone eating trans-fat is nowhere near as dangerous as someone owning a gun. Humans can be incredibly volitle. Why would we make the situation worse by adding a variable that can make the violence escalate tenfold?

    If you don’t understand the family concept and principles of the Bible, then I can’t say anything that will help you. Bible biblical definition, the marriage of a man and woman is a marriage. If you can site from the scriptures where there was marriage between a man and man or woman and woman

    But this doesn’t address Society’s original question of *how* it destroys the family. An answer would be providing some sort of study that shows that if a same-sex couple moves into the neighborhood, the divorce increases by a factor of three. Or allowing a homosexual relationship has a direct impact as to whether heterosexual relationships can occur, or if those affect having/raising children.

    I wasn’t going to vote for Huckabee in the first place, but in everything I’ve been hearing about his involvement with the Wayne Dumond situation, that just sealed the whole “He does not have my vote” decision. See here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2007/12/04/documents-expose-huckabee_n_75362.html

    For an example. It was referenced in a Time magazine blog.

    Or here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/arianna-huffington/huckabee-tries-to-shoot-t_b_75711.html

  9. Any candidate is going to have pros and cons. With Huckabee #2- the private sector has been untrustworthy to the extreme in providing health care. Non-profits are the answer. #4 – No amnesty is a stupid idea. It is hypocritical to be a free trader and tell the worker he is not invited to the party.

    I support Huckabee even though I oppose him on these two points (I think the WAR point is moot).

  10. Society,

    “So you think the more guns in a country – or freedom to have those arms – actually results in less gun crime?”

    Well, absolutely YES! I’m not sure whether this is something that can be best understood only by those living in the US, but actually this is quite true. Numerous surveys have been taken of violent criminals, and the number one fear that criminals have, hands down, is is that their intended victims might be armed. In US states or counties where concealed weapons by average citizens are suddenly allowed by new laws, violent gun crime falls dramatically. The cities with the toughest gun control laws have the highest gun violence.

    The logic behind all this is really quite simple: most gun owners are NOT CRIMINALS, and will not use their guns to commit crimes. When guns are outlawed, ALL gun owners are criminals, and they will have free reign to use their guns with greater ease. In countries such as England and Austrailia where guns have been recently banned altogether, violent crime has exploded. Criminals never let gun laws prevent them from obtaining guns in the first place – they’re criminals, so the laws mean nothing to them. When a majority of gun owners are not criminals, but good citizens that will use their guns only for self-defense, crime rates fall. If a criminal is willing to violate the law against murder or armed robbery, why would anybody think such a lesser law against owning a gun would suddenly be obeyed? Criminals laugh at those laws – even out loud, LOL! (<— internet humor) Criminals even love gun laws because they know that it will disarm law abiding citizens from preventing them from committing crimes.

    Society, I’m not trying to be “in your face” with this (we’re cyber friends after all, and I detect quite a bit of condescension amongst your commenters), and I’m not a Republican or a “gun lover” – in fact I’ve never owned a gun even though my dad was a career cop and had guns in our house my whole life – and not a supporter of Huckabee either. I’m simply giving my view from somebody who lives in the US and has to deal with the crime fears of a major metropolitan area. I’ve lived in high crime neighborhoods several times and attended college at the number one crime rate campus in the entire country – and simultaneously the most “liberal” of all – Berkeley.

  11. One of the best stories I ever read coming from a church: Conservative Politics, Evangelical Pastor Rattles Flock

    I’m not worried about crooks with guns, I’m more concerned about the ready availability of weapons to people who are not mentally stable. My younger brother, a staunch military supporter, wave the flag, NRA card carrying, Republican, angry, irrational man is living in a house with 2 handguns, 7 rifles, and a cupboard full of ammunition, all obtained legally. In what universe would this be considered essential for self-protection? Republican America I guess.

  12. “First, you and I are so far off in much of what we believe will never come to an agreement” (Fishon)

    But I think that is alright – we don’t have to agree on everything anyways.

    “Canadian health care–Oh yea, that is why so many mothers to be are coming down to Washington and Oregon from BC” (fishon)

    That may be true – but then they must be paying out their nose since they are Canadians – not Americans – and if that’s what they want to spend their money on – have at it. To me, the most biblical stance on health-care is socialized health care – since all are included equally (no one is left out) – and in that system the richer help to shoulder the burden of the poor – since they are able to do so. I can name tonnes of biblical ideas that line up with that – can we do the same for a system that changes the level of treatment you recieve based on how much money you make (or your importance in society due to the amount of mammon you wield)?

    As for the gun issue – this is a no brainer to me – certain guns have no use in society but were developed as ‘weapons for warfare combat’ (handguns and automatics) – so we humans could more effectively kill one another (up close and in bunches). I personally believe if America banned those guns we would also eliminate a lot of the weird shootings that happen in America (and inner city violent death would also lower itself). We see a Virginia Tech and now this Omaha shooting – I mean – how much more do we have to see of this before we realize those guns are used for mass killing (which is their original intention).

    “Can you tell me what good use alcohol has in society” (fishon)

    You mean to tell me you are willing to take a stand on firewater – but not on firearms? I am not saying alcohol is a useful thing – maybe without it society will get better? However, elminate those guns and we won’t see people being shot on campuses or shopping malls – since there will be less access to those weapons – or if it does happen the damage could be minimized. I said Huck is teaching a paranoia idea to people to protect their 2nd amendment rights – and I find that fishy on his part (and what do guns have to do with the biblical message at least alcohol is mentioned in the bible?).

    “If you don’t understand the family concept and principles of the Bible, then I can’t say anything that will help you.” (fishon)

    That’s actually not an answer to my question – I am not asking if it is a sin – I am asking how is the family eroded or society eroded by allowing gay marriage? So are you willing to divide gay people from your community because they are gay? I mean rhetoric suggests this – they are in ‘sin’ – this has to effect how you view their humanity?

    “Which one is anti-biblical?” (fishon)

    Huck is all about ‘fighting a war’ – uh yeah – where did Jesus support such ideas again? When does Jesus address nation building in any of his message…and if so…does he mention it as an actual country? The whole gun issue is fairly simple – what are certain guns used for or built for? And when you buy one of these weapons what idea are you supporting – your American right or your Christian faith? Socialized health care – as an idea – seems quite biblical to me…but a health care system that derives your importance based on your financial muscle – I am not sure that is Christian in nature (it seems like a class system). This guy opposed the Brady Bill – the guy that did something noble and took a bullet for a president…and this is a Christian stance – to oppose a bill that seeks to protect it’s country? He says he’s guided by his faith – I believe him – I am just not sure it’s about God but about viewing God through a Republican filter.

    “But if we are at war we should fight to win.” (fishon)

    What’s win look like in war exactly? I see it all as a lose-lose situation at this point – and as a Christian person I have to stand opposed to the idea of killing Iraqi’s – they are also my brothers and sisters (or my equals).

    “See, you dislike conservative opinons so much that you see things [next coming of Jesus] that our outrageous on its face.” (fishon)

    I do dislike Conservative ideas because they don’t add up with the faith I have been called to and the teacher I follow. Huck is not going to sway what I learn from Jesus – nor is his patriotism – nor is his republicanism. I don’t think his stances are at all Christian in nature – some might be – but there are handfuls of platforms of his that are not going to be found in the actual teachings of the the apostles about Jesus. So if Christians want to use him as their next political poster boy – well then I have to say that is not Christian at all – that is Americanity (new word for the world to use) or kingdom building and making our faith be part of ‘a country’s ideas’.

  13. “In US states or counties where concealed weapons by average citizens are suddenly allowed by new laws, violent gun crime falls dramatically.” (Steve)

    Okay, what report are you reading from? I live in Canada and we ban handguns – how much deaths do you think happen per year in Canada from handguns? Very little (I think there was 45 gun deaths last year – a portion of that was from handguns) since it is both illegal to own one and to use one in a crime will get you some serious time. I think there are more deaths from handguns/automatics in certain single American inner cities than in all of Canada…now that speaks volumnes.

    Secondly, I would like to point out the real problem with guns is in inner cities – did you grow up in an inner city and how effected were you by the actual problem? I mean you start looking at the perspective that comes out of inner-cities with regards to gun control and it is vastly different than the one in middle class America. I barely have to listen to any rapper to find out they think that gun control is a problem (a horrible one).

    I just watched a documentary about kids in New Orleans that have seen people get shot right in from of them – and they were church kids. Each one of them said they would not rat on the perp (even if they knew him) due to the fear of being next. Why would those kids say something like that? Or kids that die in inner cities because apparently ‘a bullet has no name on it’. The idea gun control isn’t a problem depends on your socio-economic background and how close you are to the actual problem. I state uncategorically ‘it is a problem’ and I know this simply based on some of that inner city rhetoric. I mean, what other stand can I take when I look at it from another perspective that is just as valid (or more so).

    Now I’d rather not live in a neighborhood with handguns and automatic weapons in them – they are dangerous weapons (this is rather indisputable). Even if Huck wants to argue self-defense – name anytime in the last 30 years when that idea has worked out? The Black Panthers got into violent shoot-outs with the ‘police state’ and still lost – what makes Huck think that idea is even plausible? The gov’t has missles – nevermind guns – if they want to fight against society no amount of guns will stop a heat guided missle from hitting it’s target (or a tank rolling in on you). I find his rhetoric ridiculous.

    I think for Americans to say there isn’t a problem with those guns is someone that lives in self-denial of some people’s realities in society or they refuse to think a ‘right’ can have an adverse effect. I think the right to bear arms is very questionable for a society that totes itself as peaceful and free.

  14. “In what universe would this be considered essential for self-protection? Republican America I guess.” (Yael)

    I agree Yael – I think the idea of self-protection is so over-hyped in America that people are actually taught to ‘fear’ others – thus the need for a gun in the home. I live in Canada – and when guns appear everyone is quick to outright denounce them and support the police in getting those guns off the streets. Very few people that I know of in my community get killed with a handgun – I knew 2 people 2 years ago that got shot or were firing the weapon. That’s it. Yet my city is 2nd in crime per capita – yet the crimes do not involve guns and less people die due to this. I care about society being safe – and it seems to me – the less guns involved the less murder we see.

    I really enjoyed that link and I have watched stuff on that guy – I find him to be a bold person with a good stand – he refuses to mix his faith with politics (or patriotism). I like his stands on this issue and the way he is approaching the idea – and I think he is moving in a direction that is more faith centred than country centred. This seems to be a fundamental flaw of the religious right.

  15. “but in everything I’ve been hearing about his involvement with the Wayne Dumond situation” (OSS)

    Yeah I just read your links provided – yikes – and I though this guy was merely deluded about gun control and war apparently he is also deluded about violent criminals and rehabilitation. Either way, that Duond case does not help but his stances on issues do not seek to reflect the Christian faith anyways.

  16. Societyvs said,
    That’s actually not an answer to my question – I am not asking if it is a sin – I am asking how is the family eroded or society eroded by allowing gay marriage?

    —–Gay marriage by bibical definition is not marriage. If society pretends it is and allows it to become part of the norm, though God calls it sin, and you can’t see how that erodes society and culture, than there is nothing I can say that will help you to see it.
    fishon

  17. societyvs wrote,
    You mean to tell me you are willing to take a stand on firewater – but not on firearms?
    —-Why certainly. 2nd amendment address that very issue. I don’t recall anything in our Contitution or Bill of Rights that takes about “fire-water.”
    fishon

  18. societyvs said,
    And when you buy one of these weapons what idea are you supporting – your American right or your Christian faith?
    —–Well, that is like asking, when you buy a car are you supporting your American right or your Christian right? Big stretch there, man.
    —–When I buy a gun, I am just buying a gun. When I buy a car, just a car.
    fishon

  19. societyvs wrote,
    What’s win look like in war exactly?
    —–Oh, I don’t know. Since you are having a problem with my answers, you might ask a Canadian WW2 vet. He probably can give you an answer. Maybe not one you would like, but an answer.
    fishon

  20. “though God calls it sin, and you can’t see how that erodes society and culture” (fishon)

    No I am sorry I can’t. I know a lot of gay people in my province in Saskatchewan and none of them seem to be ruining society by virtue of their sexual orientation – that’s why I make the statements I do. There is nothing you can say to tell me about how it erodes society because nothing happens that you can show. To me, that doesn’t make your point truer – it just means you have no answer.

    “Why certainly. 2nd amendment address that very issue” (fishon)

    Oddly enough there is nothing in the 2nd amendment about what kind of ‘arms’ that should be allowed – I am not even totally sure guns existed at that time.

    “Well, that is like asking, when you buy a car are you supporting your American right or your Christian right? Big stretch there, man.” (fishon)

    If you buy a car from GM you are supporting their making of cars. If you buy a gun from a gun manufacturer you support them to make more (thus they can make more profit). This in turn for both companies means more of what they make is available in your country. Now cars are not made as weapons – or the ones that are – you can’t actually buy (ie: a tank or armored gun vehicle). But guns – no matter the type it is available for the consumer…irregardless of their actual meaning and reason they were made. So at least I know when I see you with a car I know what your purpose is – to get around from point a to point b. If I see you with a handgun – what should I think the purpose of that is?

    “Since you are having a problem with my answers, you might ask a Canadian WW2 vet.” (fishon)

    I have family that fought in WW2 and you know the overhwhelming message always is – avoid this type of war at all costs (even at Rememberance ceremonies). As for Iraq, comparing that to WW2 is belittling the scope of what WW2 actually was – Iraq war is one huge country trying to determine the path of another smaller country via invasion (to me it smacks of unjustified reasons for a war). I support the troops and all that – but I’d rather we took care of our borders (actual country you are a part of) – than try to fight a war we are not sure how victory is going to look.

  21. societyvs wrote: There is nothing you can say to tell me about how it erodes society because nothing happens that you can show. To me, that doesn’t make your point truer – it just means you have no answer.
    —–San Francico

    societyvs writes: Oddly enough there is nothing in the 2nd amendment about what kind of ‘arms’ that should be allowed – I am not even totally sure guns existed at that time.
    —-Bingo, no prohibitions against any guns
    —-Oh, believe me, the British can tell you about the guns on my Nation’s founding Fathers.

    societyvs asks: If I see you with a handgun – what should I think the purpose of that is?
    —–Protection. By the way, I never leave home without my .357 mag.

    societyvs: I have family that fought in WW2 and you know the overhwhelming message always is – avoid this type of war at all costs (even at Rememberance ceremonies).
    —–I thank God for those of your family that fought for freedom, not only for you, but for me. And I can tell you that every WW2 vet in my congregation hate war, and prays we as a nation can avoid it. And that goes for the Viet Nams vets in my congregation and Iraqi vets too. And that includes my son who was a Capt. in the US Army and went to Bosnia and Serbia under orders of President Bill Clinton.

    You write: As for Iraq, comparing that to WW2 is belittling the scope of what WW2 actually was
    —–My comment was in reference to your statement: Huck said, “I will fight this war hard.” And you think war should be fought easy? Pray tell, how do you do that?
    —-You see, whether is is WW2 or Iraq or any war for that matter, we should fight to win, just like the allied troops did in WW2.

    I am guessing we have run this debate into the ground. On to the next.
    fishon

Leave a Reply

